RU-GELD.DE

Business, work and life in Germany in English

Celebrating the All Saints' Day in Germany: dates, celebration, conventional congratulations, greetings, traditions and customs on the All Saints' Day

On this page you will find a description of the All Saints' Day festivities in Germany, other names of the holiday: Allhallows Day. Celebration dates by year, customs and traditions common for Germany on the All Saints' Day, a description of the origin, if known, as well as what congratulations & greetings the Germans use in their country on this holiday and their meaning. Here, you will also find photos of the attributes of the holiday or the celebration itself and other interesting information.


§ Dates for the All Saints' Day celebration in Germany

The date of the All Saints' Day celebration in Germany remains unchanged every year and falls on 1 November.

The All Saints' Day celebration date in Germany:
Tuesday 1 November 2022 .

Below is a list of dates for celebrating the All Saints' Day in Germany by year, provided that in previous and subsequent years the present practice and time of the holiday celebration is preserved:

Commemoration of All the Faithful Departed Day2 November 2021
2 November 2022
2 November 2023
2 November 2024
2 November 2025
Remembrance Sunday 21 November 2021
20 November 2022
26 November 2023
24 November 2024
23 November 2025

§ Other names of the holiday

Holiday name in German: Allerheiligen.

Other names for the All Saints' Day in Germany:

§ Holiday status in the territory of Germany

The holiday is an official extra non-working day only in the following federated states (lands) of Germany:

§ Wishes and congratulations, greetings on the All Saints' Day in Germany

There are no congratulations or wishes on this day.

§ Description of the All Saints' Day celebration: customs and traditions:

Saints in traditional churches are Christians who were executed for their faith, or for outstanding virtues were especially noted by the church and sanctified. All Saints Day or Allhallows Day is celebrated in memory of all the saints, both canonized by the church and those left without honour and veneration. On this day, people decorate the graves of the deceased, sometimes even with flowers and fruits. A fire is lit on the grave, which keeps burning on the next day. On this day, ceremonies are also held at the cemetery, in which prayers are said for the souls of the dead.

All Saints' Day in Germany is a calm day with no dancing or loud music. In the southern part of Germany, yeast dough crescent rolls are baked at this time.

Commemoration of the Faithful Departed Day or All Souls Day

The day after All Saints Day, the Catholic Church celebrates the Commemoration of the Faithful Departed Day or All Souls Day (in German: Allerseelen). It is celebrated on the occasion of commemorating relatives and friends. Traditions and customs on this day are practically the same as on All Saints Day. On this day, special buns with raisins are baked to commemorate the dead. See the list of all popular holidays in Germany for the All Souls Day Date.

Remembrance Sunday

The Evangelical Church individually observes the day of remembrance of the dead, which is called "Remembrance Sunday" (in German: Totensonntag). On this day, it is customary to go to the graves, the customs and traditions of the holiday are also very similar to those described above, practiced on All Saints Day. The date of the celebration changes every year and always falls on a Sunday. For the Remembrance Sunday Date see the list of all popular holidays in Germany.

The beginning of this celebration goes back to the 4th century AD. The day of the celebration was rescheduled several times until, in the 9th century, the Catholic Church set it for November 1st.



§ The origin of the All Saints' Day holiday

This day traditions reflect the superstitions that people were obsessed with in the past: it was believed that the souls of the dead who fell into purgatory could temporarily leave it, so for them bread, water and a light left on were placed near the coffin. Besides, people had a fear of the dead and believed that those, on the night after All Saints Day, visited their past dwellings, so people also left part of the food on the table at their homes.

These traditions have nothing to do with the Biblical narrative and are associated with superstitions and belief in spirits.

§ Photos, pictures for the holiday

To enlarge and view the picture, click on it with the mouse button.



§ Comments and questions from the Site visitors:

New comment :


Text editing: b k u m
Photo / picture to the comment

Save
Follow us on
Information
Main sections
About us
Photo to page
Vacations and holidays in Germany
Orthes

RU-GELD.DE

Бизнес, работа и жизнь в Германии на русском

Празднование Дня всех святых в Германии: даты, празднование, принятые поздравления, традиции и обычаи в День всех святых

На данной странице вы найдете описание Дня всех святых в Германии, другие названия праздника: Праздник всех святых. Даты празднования по годам, обычаи и традиции, принятые в Германии на День всех святых, описание происхождения, если оно известно, а также какие поздравления используют немцы в Германии на данный праздник и их значение. Также вы найдете здесь фотографии атрибутов праздника или самого празднования и другую интересную информацию.


§ Даты празднования Дня всех святых в Германии

Дата празднования Дня всех святых в Германии остается неизменной каждый год и приходится на 1 ноября.

Дата празднования Дня всех святых в Германии:
Пятница 1 ноября 2019 года.

Далее следует список дат празднования Дня всех святых в Германии по годам, при условии, что в предыдущие и последующие годы сохраняется сегодняшний порядок и время празднования праздника:

День поминовения усопших2 ноября 2018
2 ноября 2019
2 ноября 2020
2 ноября 2021
2 ноября 2022
Поминальное воскресенье25 ноября 2018
24 ноября 2019
22 ноября 2020
21 ноября 2021
20 ноября 2022

§ Другие названия праздника

Название праздника на немецком языке: Allerheiligen.

Другие названия Дня всех святых в Германии:

§ Статус праздника на территории Германии

Праздник является официальным дополнительным выходным днем только в следующих землях Германии:

§ Пожелания и поздравления в День всех святых в Германии

Поздравлений или пожеланий в этот день нет.

§ Описание празднования Дня всех святых: обычаи и традиции

Святыми в традиционных церквях считаются христиане, которые были казнены за свою веру, либо за выдающиеся добродетели были особенно отмечены церковью и возведены в ранг святых. День всех святых празднуется в память о всех святых, как канонизированных церковью, так и оставшихся без почета и почитания. В этот день люди украшают могилы покойных, иногда даже цветами и фруктами. На могиле зажигается огонь, который горит еще и на следующий день. В этот день также устраиваются церемонии на кладбище, в которых произносятся молитвы за души умерших.

День всех святых в Германии является спокойным днем, без танцев и громкой музыки. В южной части Германии в это время пекут косички из дрожжевого теста.

День поминовения усопших

На следующий день после Дня всех святых, в Католической церкви отмечают праздник "День поминовения усопших" (нем. Allerseelen). Его отмечают по поводу поминовения родственников и друзей. Традиции и обычаи в этот день практически те же, что и на День всех святых. В этот день пекут особенные булочки с изюмом для поминания умерших. Дату Дня поминовения усопших смотрите в списке всех популярных праздников в Германии.

Поминальное воскресенье

В Евангелической церкви отмечают отдельно день памяти об умерших, который называется "Поминальное воскресенье" (нем. Totensonntag). В данный день принято ходить на могилки, обычаи и традиции праздника также очень похожи на описанные выше, которые практикуют на День всех святых. Дата празднования меняется каждый год и всегда выпадает на воскресенье. Дату Поминального воскресенья смотрите в списке всех популярных праздников в Германии.



§ Происхождение праздника Дня всех святых

Начало данного празднования восходит к 4 веку нашей эры. День празднования переносили несколько раз, пока в 9 веке Католическая церковь не установила его на 1 ноября.

Традиции данного дня отражают суеверия, которыми люди были одержимы в прошлом: считалось, что души умерших, попавших в чистилище могут его временно покидать и для них возле гроба ставили хлеб, воду и зажженный свет. Также люди имели страх перед умершими и считали, что те, в ночь после Дня всех святых, посещают свое прошлое жилье, поэтому люди также оставляли часть еды на столе у себя дома.

Данные традиции не имеют ничего общего с Библейским повествованием и связаны с суевериями и верой в духов.

§ Фотографии, картинки к празднику

Для увеличения и просмотра картинки, нажмите на нее кнопкой мышки.



§ Комментарии и вопросы посетителей Сайта:

Новый комментарий:


Редактирование текста: ж к п м
Фотография / рисунок к комментарию


Внести комментарий

Мы в социальных сетях

Информация

Основные разделы

О нас

Фото к странице

Праздники и каникулы в Германии

Разное