RU-GELD.DE

Business, work and life in Germany in English

Celebrating the Holy Week in Germany: dates, celebration, conventional congratulations, greetings, traditions and customs on the Holy Week and Good Friday

On this page you will find a description of the Holy Week festivities in Germany, other names of the holiday: Maundy Week; Passion Week. Celebration dates by year, customs and traditions common for Germany on the Holy Week, a description of the origin, if known, as well as what congratulations & greetings the Germans use in their country on this holiday and their meaning. Here, you will also find photos of the attributes of the holiday or the celebration itself and other interesting information.


§ Dates for the Holy Week celebration in Germany

The date of the Holy Week celebration in Germany changes every year.

The Holy Week celebration date in Germany:
Sunday 10 April 2022 .

Below is a list of dates for celebrating the Holy Week in Germany by year, provided that in previous and subsequent years the present practice and time of the holiday celebration is preserved:

Good, Great or Holy Friday during the Holy Week is a national public holiday in Germany and is observed a follows:

Good Friday2 April 2021
15 April 2022
7 April 2023
29 March 2024
18 April 2025
Yew Sunday28 March 2021
10 April 2022
2 April 2023
24 March 2024
13 April 2025
Holy Thursday1 April 2021
14 April 2022
6 April 2023
28 March 2024
17 April 2025
Holy Saturday3 April 2021
16 April 2022
8 April 2023
30 March 2024
19 April 2025

§ Other names of the holiday

Holiday name in German: Karwoche.

Other names for the Holy Week in Germany:

§ Holiday status in the territory of Germany

Holy Week is not an extra non-working day in Germany.

Good, Great or Holy Friday during the Holy Week is a national public holiday and an extra non-working day in Germany.

§ Wishes and congratulations, greetings on the Holy Week in Germany

No information available.

§ Description of the Holy Week celebration: customs and traditions:

Holy or Passion Week (in German: Karwoche) is the last week of the 40-day Great Lent, which begins with the Ash Wednesday (in German: Aschermittwoch). It is also a week of bereavement, mourning before Easter (in German: Ostern). It starts on the Sunday preceding Easter and ends on the Saturday, which is the Easter Eve.

The name "Kar" comes from the old German word Chara and means: mourning, sorrow, grief. At this time, believers mark three events at once: the Sufferings, Death and Resurrection of Christ.

Some days of this week have a specific name and meaning; for more information, see the table below:

What follows is a description of each day, their meaning and customs.

Palm Sunday or Yew Sunday

Palm Sunday is the beginning of the Great Week or Holy Week. This day is a day to remember Jesus' triumphal entry into Jerusalem riding a donkey. The people greeted him by spreading clothes on the road and welcoming him with palm leaves.

In countries where palm trees do not grow, on this day people cut the branches of trees, for example, willow (osier), evergreen and other trees and make bouquets or a palm pole (in German: Palmstange) out of them beautifying them with ribbons, eggs, flowers, fruits, pastries, and other decorations. On this day, worship services and church processions are held with young people and children participating.

Like many other holidays, over time, Palm Sunday has acquired traditions and superstitions that have nothing to do with Christ. For example, palm branches and bouquets are believed to protect the home from all evil. Branches are burned for the same purpose. People also decorate branches and even whole trees with painted eggs.

Another feature of Palm Sunday is Confirmation - in Protestant churches on this day young people of 13 to 15 years old celebrate the end of their religious education and are received into Churches as adult believers.

Maundy Thursday or Holy Thursday

Maundy Thursday of the Holy Week, in German - Gründonnerstag (Green Thursday). The name Gründonnerstags has evolved over time, while originally the day was called Greindonnerstag, which was translated as the Day of the Weeping or Whining.

On this day Christ is believed to have had the last supper with his disciples, marking the Passover.

On this day, worship services are held in churches, after which church bells are silenced until Easter. Earlier that day, people excommunicated on Ash Wednesday were restored to the churches; this tradition has its manifestations in the modern rites of this day.

This day also has a lot of traditions and beliefs unrelated to the Bible, for example: making wreaths of flowers decorated with eggs; eating green dishes, dishes made from green vegetables and herbs.

Good Friday or Holy Friday

This day is considered the day of Christ's death, therefore it is regarded as a day of mourning and a day of fasting. By 3:00 p.m., the time considered to be the time of Christ's death, parishioners gather in churches. On this day, the Way of the Cross (in German: Kreuzweg) service takes place.

Earlier on Good Friday, people did not drink anything, the children received as a gift cookies baked in the form of the alphabet letters and a Good Friday chicken egg, for good studies, which began after Easter.

Great Saturday or Holy Saturday

Holy Saturday is the last day of the Holy Week and the day of preparation for the Easter celebration. This is a day of silence and prayer, dedicated to the Christ's burial remembrance. It ends with an Easter bonfire.

On the night of Saturday into Sunday, church services are held and the Holy Saturday traditions are observed. In the church courtyard, a fire is built, from which the traditional candle, the Paschal, is lit, wherefrom the believers in the temple light their candles. Also earlier on this night, adults used to be baptized.



§ The origin of the Holy Week holiday

The Passion Week or the Great Week is a time in which believers remember the difficult days experienced by Jesus Christ before his death and his very death.

However, most of the church traditions that are observed at this time do not refer to the Christ lifetime, yet, have originated from popular superstitions and customs.

§ Photos, pictures for the holiday

To enlarge and view the picture, click on it with the mouse button.



§ Comments and questions from the Site visitors:

New comment :


Text editing: b k u m
Photo / picture to the comment

Save
Follow us on
Information
Main sections
About us
Photo to page
Vacations and holidays in Germany
Orthes

RU-GELD.DE

Бизнес, работа и жизнь в Германии на русском

Празднование Страстной недели в Германии: даты, празднование, принятые поздравления, традиции и обычаи в Страстную неделю и великую пятницу

На данной странице вы найдете описание Страстной недели в Германии, другие названия праздника: Великая неделя; Святая неделя; Страстная седмица; Вербное воскресенье; Великий четверг; Великая пятница; Великая суббота; Trauerwoche; Heilige Woche; Passionswoche; Leidenzeit. Даты празднования по годам, обычаи и традиции, принятые в Германии на Страстную неделю, описание происхождения, если оно известно, а также какие поздравления используют немцы в Германии на данный праздник и их значение. Также вы найдете здесь фотографии атрибутов праздника или самого празднования и другую интересную информацию.


§ Даты празднования Страстной недели в Германии

Дата празднования Страстной недели в Германии ежегодно меняется.

Дата празднования Страстной недели в Германии:
Воскресенье 14 апреля 2019 года.

Далее следует список дат празднования Страстной недели в Германии по годам, при условии, что в предыдущие и последующие годы сохраняется сегодняшний порядок и время празднования праздника:

Великая или страстная пятница во время страстной недели является в Германии государственным общенациональным праздником и имеет следующее время празднования:

Великая пятница30 марта 2018
19 апреля 2019
10 апреля 2020
2 апреля 2021
15 апреля 2022
Вербное Воскресенье25 марта 2018
14 апреля 2019
5 апреля 2020
28 марта 2021
10 апреля 2022
Страстной четверг29 марта 2018
18 апреля 2019
9 апреля 2020
1 апреля 2021
14 апреля 2022
Страстная суббота31 марта 2018
20 апреля 2019
11 апреля 2020
3 апреля 2021
16 апреля 2022

§ Другие названия праздника

Название праздника на немецком языке: Karwoche.

Другие названия Страстной недели в Германии:

§ Статус праздника на территории Германии

Страстная неделя не является дополнительным выходным днем в Германии.

Великая или страстная пятница во время страстной недели является государственным общенациональным праздником и дополнительным выходным днем в Германии.

§ Пожелания и поздравления в Страстную неделю в Германии

Информации нет.

§ Описание празднования Страстной недели: обычаи и традиции

Страстная неделя (нем. Karwoche) - это последняя неделя Великого 40-дневного поста, который начинается с Пепельной среды (нем. Aschermittwoch). Также это неделя траура, скорби перед Пасхой (нем. Ostern). Она начинается в воскресенье, предшествующее Пасхе и заканчивается в субботу в канун Пасхи.

Название "Kar" происходит от старонемецкого слова Chara и означает: траур, печаль, скорбь. В это время верующие празднуют сразу три события: страдания, смерть и воскресение Христа.

Некоторые дни этой недели имеют определенное название и значение, подробнее смотрите в следующей далее таблице:

Далее следует описание каждого дня, их значения и обычаев.

Вербное воскресенье или пальмовое воскресенье

Вербное воскресенье является началом Великой или страстной недели. Этот день - день памяти о триумфальном въезде Иисуса Христа в Иерусалим на осленке. Люди встречали его расстилая на дороге одежду и приветствовали его пальмовыми листьями.

В странах, где пальмы не растут, в этот день люди срезают ветви деревьев, например вербы(ивы), вечнозеленых и других деревьев и делают из них букеты или пальмовый шест (нем. Palmstange) и украшают его лентами, яйцами, цветами, фруктами, выпечкой и другими украшениями. В этот день проводятся богослужения и церковные шествия с молодежью и детьми.

Как и многие другие праздники, Вербное воскресенье обросло со временем традициями и суевериями, не имеющими ничего общего с Христом. Так, например, считается, что пальмовые ветви и букеты защищают дом от всего злого. Для этой же цели сжигают ветви. Также люди украшают ветви и даже целые деревья разноцветными яйцами.

Еще одной особенностью Вербного воскресенья является конфирмация - в протестантских церквях в этот день молодые люди 13 - 15 лет отмечают окончание религиозного воспитания и принимаются в Церквях как взрослые верующие.

Великий четверг или страстной четверг

Великий четверг страстной недели, по-немецки Gründonnerstag (зеленый четверг). Название Gründonnerstags сформировалось в течение времени, а первоначально день назывался Greindonnerstag, что в переводе означало День плачущих или ноющих.

Считается, что в этот день Христос провел со своими учениками последний ужин, отметив Еврейскую пасху.

В этот день в церквях совершаются богослужения, после которых замолкают церковные колокола вплоть до пасхи. Ранее в этот день в церквях восстанавливали исключенных из Церкви в Пепельную среду людей; данная традиция имеет свои проявления в современных обрядах этого дня.

Этот день также имеет массу традиций и поверий, не относящихся к Библии, например: изготовление венков из цветов, украшенных яйцами; употребление зеленых блюд, блюд изготовленных из зеленых овощей и трав.

Великая пятница или страстная пятница

Этот день считается днем смерти Христа, поэтому он считается траурным днем и днем поста. К 15:00 часам, время, которое считается временем смерти Христа, прихожане собираются в церквях. В этот день проходит богослужение Крестного пути (нем. Kreuzweg).

Ранее на Великую пятницу люди ничего не пили, дети получали в качестве подарка выпеченное в форме букв алфавита печенье и куриное яйцо Великой пятницы, для хорошей учебы, которая начиналась после Пасхи.

Великая суббота или страстная суббота

Страстная суббота является последним днем страстной недели и днем приготовления к празднованию Пасхи. Это день тишины и молитвы, посвященный воспоминанию погребения Христа. Заканчивается он с Пасхальным костром.

В ночь с субботы на воскресенье в церквях проходят богослужения и проводятся традиции страстной субботы. Во дворе церквки разводится костер, от которого зажигается традиционная свеча, пасхал, от которого верующие в храме зажигают свои свечи. Также в эту ночь ранее проводили крещение взрослых людей.



§ Происхождение праздника Страстной недели

Страстная или великая неделя является временем в которое верующие вспоминают о тяжелых днях, пережитых Иисусом Христом перед его смертью и саму его смерть.

Однако большинство церковных традиций, которые исполняются в это время не относятся к времени Христа, а пришли из народных суеверий и обычаев.

§ Фотографии, картинки к празднику

Для увеличения и просмотра картинки, нажмите на нее кнопкой мышки.



§ Комментарии и вопросы посетителей Сайта:

Новый комментарий:


Редактирование текста: ж к п м
Фотография / рисунок к комментарию


Внести комментарий

Мы в социальных сетях

Информация

Основные разделы

О нас

Фото к странице

Праздники и каникулы в Германии

Разное