RU-GELD.DE

Business, work and life in Germany in English

Marriage in Germany: marriage with/to a citizen of Germany, issues of citizenship, residence and law

On this page you will find information about the marriage law in Germany: conditions for marriage, rights and obligations of the spouses. Besides, here we discuss the issues of marriage of a foreigner from other countries with/to a German citizen: what documents are required for marriage, how to obtain the citizenship or a residence permit through marriage, the dangers of a fictitious marriage (marriage of convenience, pro forma marriage) are discussed.


§ German marriage law

The brochure published by the German Federal Ministry of Justice and Consumer Protection says: "future spouses, when married, enter into a mandatory, statutory form of marriage/wedlock, which is under the special protection of our Constitution ... This basic principle is embodied in the many legal rules of law that have been established for spouses". Thus, when entering into marriage, the spouses have to know their legal rights and obligations that they obtain cojoining in wedlock; there are special legal provisions regarding the marriages between the country citizens and foreigners.

Marriage and family are under the special protection of the state. (Constitution of Germany, art. 6 para. 1)

The Civil Code (in German: Bürgerliches Gesetzbuch) of the country states that valid marriage must be performed at the registry office by its employee. Sometimes bride and groom additionally participate in a church ceremony, however, this does not have any legal consequences. In Germany, getting married is valid only in case of it being fixed at the registry office. It will also be useful to know that same-sex people are allowed to get married in Germany.

Prohibition of marriage

According to the laws of the country, people cannot marry unless the following conditions are met:

Key points

Marriage is for life, the spouses commit themselves/ undertake to lead a life together and bear responsibility for each other, have the right to demand from each other fidelity, respect, attention and support. The legislation also regulates the issues related to family support, household management and property rights of the spouses.

The spouses are not automatically legal representatives of each other, without a power of attorney, they cannot perform legal or any other actions on behalf of each other (for example, to receive a parcel sent to the post office in the name of one of the spouses). In some cases, the law may establish other rules.

Family maintenance and household

Both spouses are mutually obliged to make a fair share of contribution to providing for the family; they are free in assigning the roles, as to who will work to provide for the family financially, and who will take care of the household. Usually the person who is primarily engaged in household work is already fulfilling his or her duty to provide for the family and is not required to work additionally.

Agreement of marriage in Germany

A marriage contract may be entered into by the spouses, but it is not binding. In the case of a marriage contract, it has to be signed by both spouses in the presence of a notary. The contract may change some property relations of the spouses regulated by law, however, the marriage contract cannot cancel or replace all the provisions of the German marriage law, as well as infringe on or damage the rights of one of the spouses. Thus, the concluded marriage contract or some of its provisions may be non-valid. Typically, such an agreement is concluded if the spouses wish to establish their own rules on maintaining the family, division of property upon divorce/ dissolution of marriage, etc.

§ Documents for registering marriage with a German citizen

A German citizen who wants to marry a foreigner shall first contact the registry office to get advice on the procedure for the marriage with a foreigner and the provision of the documents required.

A foreigner, in order to marry a German citizen, is first required to provide a certificate from the responsible state body in their country stating that s/he does not have any legal hindrances to marriage regarding the legislation of his/her country (in German: Ehefähigkeitszeugnis). This certificate is limited in validity to 6 months. Furthermore, in some cases, for example, for stateless people, marriage is possible without providing such a certificate. If the foreigner's state does not provide for the issuance of such certificates, the certificate stating that s/he is not married is most likely to be obtained, this certificate can be taken into account when deciding on the registration of marriage; besides, an application for exemption from providing the Ehefähigkeitszeugnis certificate will also have to be submitted.

To register a marriage in Germany, the following basic documents are required:

In some cases, other documents may be required. Foreign documents have to be translated, attested and legalized or apostilled.

If a person used to be in a marriage that has been dissolved or their former spouse has died, the relevant confirmation of divorce or a death certificate will have to be produced.

§ German citizenship, residence permit through marriage

The right to enter Germany for marriage

If a person who does not have the European Union citizenship, marries a German, s/he needs a permit to stay in Germany (in German: Aufenthaltstitel). This permit is not issued to a person only because s/he wants to marry, so to come to Germany for marriage, you must first obtain a national visa of Germany, which gives the right to stay in Germany for up to 3 months; this period can be extended at the Foreigners Registration Office (in German: Ausländerbehörde).

Obtaining a permit for a long- term stay in the country as the spouse of a German

In ordinary case, when entering into a marriage with a German, a foreigner has the right to obtain a permit for a long-term stay in the country (in German: Aufenthaltserlaubnis), however, under certain circumstances, the authorities may refuse to issue the permit. Below are the conditions that may be an obstacle to obtaining the said permit:

A stay permit is issued for a period of 3 years, after which an indefinite residence permit (in German: Niederlassungserlaubnis) is usually issued in the country.

Naturalization of a spouse

By and large, for foreigners who wish to obtain the German citizenship, the general German naturalization rules, apply, however, under the conditions specified by law, earlier admission to citizenship is possible.

A foreign citizen married to a German man / a German woman may apply for the German citizenship if the following general requirements are met:

The German law provides for various rules and exceptions to the rules for obtaining the citizenship by a foreign spouse, therefore, when deciding to obtain the citizenship, you have to always consult the responsible institution in the place of residence.

§ Fictitious marriage (Marriage of convenience, Pro forma marriage, business marriage) in Germany

In order to emigrate to Germany, some foreigners seek to conclude/enter into a fictitious marriage (in German: Scheinehe) with a German citizen; often this is done on a paid basis. Before taking such a step, take into account the following points:


§ Comments and questions from the Site visitors:

Comments made in Russian: 9, view.

New comment :


Text editing: b k u m
Photo / picture to the comment

Save
Follow us on
Information
Main sections
About us
Photo to page
Registration of marriage in Germany with, to a German
Orthes

RU-GELD.DE

Business, Arbeit und Leben in Deutschland: für Ausländer und Migranten

Ehe in Deutschland: Eheschließung mit mit Ausländer, Angelegenheiten der Staatsangehörigkeit, des Wohnsitzes und des Rechts

Auf dieser Seite finden Sie Informationen zum Eherecht in Deutschland: Bedingungen für die Eheschließung, Rechte und Pflichten der Ehegatten. Darüber hinaus werden die Fragen der Ehe eines Ausländers mit einem deutschen Staatsbürger erörtert: Welche Dokumente für die Eheschließung benötigt werden und wie man die Staatsbürgerschaft oder die Aufenthalts-/Niederlassungserlaubnis durch die Ehe erhält. Außerdem werden die Gefahren einer Scheinehe erörtert.


§ Eherecht in Deutschland

In einer vom deutschen Justizministerium veröffentlichten Broschüre heißt es: "Zukünftige Ehegatten gehen, wenn sie heiraten, eine verbindliche, gesetzliche Form der Ehe ein, die unter dem besonderen Schutz unserer Verfassung steht ... Dieses Grundprinzip ist in den vielen gesetzlichen Regeln enthalten, die für Ehepartner festgelegt wurden". Daher müssen Ehepartner ihre gesetzlichen Rechte und Pflichten kennen, die sie mit dem Eingehen einer Ehe haben. Für Ehen zwischen Staatsbürgern und Ausländern bestehen besondere gesetzliche Bestimmungen.

Ehe und Familie stehen unter dem besonderen Schutz des Staates. (Grundgesetz für die Bundesrepublik Deutschland, Art. 6 Abs. 1)

TDas Bürgerliche Gesetzbuch des Landes sieht vor, dass die Ehe von Mitarbeitern des Standesamtes geschlossen werden sollte. Manchmal nehmen Braut und Bräutigam zusätzlich an einer kirchlichen Trauung teil, dies hat jedoch keine rechtlichen Folgen. In Deutschland ist die Ehe nur im Standesamt gültig. Es wird auch nützlich sein zu wissen, dass in Deutschland die gleichgeschlechtliche Ehe erlaubt ist.

Verbot einer Eheschließung

Nach den Gesetzen des Landes können Menschen nicht heiraten, wenn die folgenden Voraussetzungen nicht erfüllt sind:

Grundbestimmungen

Die Ehe ist fürs Leben, Ehepartner verpflichten sich, ein gemeinsames Leben zu führen und sind füreinander verantwortlich, haben das Recht, Treue, Respekt, Aufmerksamkeit und Unterstützung voneinander zu fordern. Die Gesetzgebung regelt auch Fragen im Zusammenhang mit dem Unterhalt der Familie, der Haushaltsführung und den Eigentumsrechten von Ehepartnern.

Ehepartner sind nicht automatisch gesetzliche Vertreter voneinander, ohne Vollmacht können sie keine rechtlichen oder sonstigen Handlungen im Namen des anderen durchführen (z. B. um ein Paket zu erhalten, das an den Ehepartner per Post geschickt wird). In einigen Fällen kann das Gesetz andere Regeln festlegen.

Familienunterhalt und Haushalt

Beide Ehepartner sind einander verpflichtet, einen machbaren Beitrag zur Versorgung der Familie zu leisten. Sie sind frei in der Verteilung der Rollen, wer für den finanziellen Unterhalt der Familie arbeitet und wer die Hausarbeit erledigt. In der Regel erfüllen diejenigen, die hauptsächlich im Haushalt tätig sind, bereits ihre Verpflichtung für ihre Familien zu sorgen, und müssen nicht zusätzlich arbeiten.

Ehevertrag in Deutschland

Ein Ehevertrag kann von Ehepartnern geschlossen werden, ist jedoch keine Voraussetzung. Im Falle eines Ehevertrags muss dieser von beiden Ehepartnern in Anwesenheit eines Notars unterzeichnet werden. Der Vertrag kann einige Eigentumsverhältnisse von Ehepartnern ändern, die gesetzlich geregelt sind. Ein Ehevertrag kann jedoch nicht alle Bestimmungen des deutschen Eherechts aufheben oder ersetzen, sowie einen der Ehegatten unterdrücken oder schädigen. Daher kann es sein, dass ein geschlossener Ehevertrag oder einige seiner Inhalte möglicherweise nicht gültig sind. In der Regel wird ein Vertrag geschlossen, wenn die Ehegatten ihre eigenen Regeln für den Unterhalt der Familie, die Aufteilung des Eigentums bei Scheidung, usw. festlegen möchten.

§ Dokumente für die Registrierung einer Ehe mit einem deutschen Staatsbürger

Ein deutscher Staatsbürger, der einen Ausländer heiraten möchte, muss sich zunächst an das Standesamt wenden, um sich über das Verfahren für die Eheschließung mit einem Ausländer und die erforderlichen Unterlagen beraten zu lassen.

Ein Ausländer muss, um einen deutschen Staatsbürger zu heiraten, zunächst eine Bescheinigung der zuständigen staatlichen Stelle in seinem Land vorlegen, aus der hervorgeht, dass er entsprechend der Gesetzgebung seines Landes kein Hindernis für die Ehe darstellt (Ehefähigkeitszeugnis). Dieses Zertifikat ist auf 6 Monate begrenzt. Darüber hinaus ist in einigen Fällen, beispielsweise für Nicht-Staatsangehörige, eine Heirat ohne Vorlage einer solchen Bescheinigung möglich. Wenn der Staat des Ausländers die Ausstellung solcher Zertifikate nicht vorsieht, kann dieser höchstwahrscheinlich eine Bescheinigung erhalten, aus der hervorgeht, dass er nicht verheiratet ist. Diese Bescheinigung kann bei der Entscheidung über die Registrierung einer Ehe berücksichtigt werden. Ebenfalls muss ein Antrag auf die Befreiung der Vorlage eines Ehefähigkeitszeugnisses gestellt werden.

Für die Registrierung einer Ehe in Deutschland sind folgende Dokumente erforderlich:

In einigen Fällen können weitere Dokumente erforderlich sein. Ausländische Dokumente müssen übersetzt, beglaubigt und legalisiert oder apostilliert werden.

Wenn eine Person zuvor verheiratet war, geschieden wurde oder ihr ehemaliger Ehepartner gestorben ist, muss eine Scheidungsbestätigung oder eine Sterbeurkunde vorgelegt werden.

§ Staatsbürgerschaft, Niederlassungserlaubnis in Deutschland durch Heirat

Das Recht zur Heirat nach Deutschland einzureisen

Wenn ein Deutscher mit einer Person eine Ehe schließt, die nicht die Unionsbürgerschaft besitzt, beispielsweise mit einem Staatsbürger Russlands, Ukraine oder Kasachstans, benötigt dieser die Erlaubnis in Deutschland zu bleiben (Aufenthaltstitel). Diese Erlaubnis wird einer Person nicht nur erteilt, weil sie heiraten möchte. Um zur Heirat nach Deutschland zu kommen, muss daher zunächst ein nationales Visum für Deutschland beantragt werden, das das Recht einräumt bis zu 3 Monate in Deutschland zu bleiben. Diese Frist kann bei der Ausländerbehörde verlängert werden.

Aufenthaltserlaubnis für den Ehegatten eines Deutschen

Im Normalfall erhält ein Ausländer bei der Eheschließung mit einer deutschen Person eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis Unter bestimmten Umständen kann so eine Erlaubnis jedoch abgelehnt werden. Die folgenden Umstände können ein Hindernis für die Erteilung der Aufenthaltserlaubnis darstellen:

Eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis wird für einen Zeitraum von 3 Jahren ausgestellt, danach wird in der Regel eine unbefristete Niederlassungserlaubnis erteilt.

Erteilung der deutschen Staatsbürgerschaft

Für Ausländer, die die deutsche Staatsbürgerschaft erhalten möchten, gelten die allgemeinen Regeln für die Annahme der deutschen Staatsbürgerschaft. Unter bestimmten gesetzlich festgelegten Voraussetzungen ist jedoch eine frühere Annahme der Staatsbürgerschaft möglich.

Ein ausländischer Staatsbürger, der mit einem Deutschen verheiratet ist, kann die deutsche Staatsbürgerschaft beantragen, wenn folgende allgemeine Voraussetzungen erfüllt sind:

Das deutsche Recht sieht verschiedene Regeln und Ausnahmen zu den Regeln für die Erlangung der Staatsbürgerschaft durch einen ausländischen Ehegatten vor. Wenn Sie sich für die Erlangung der Staatsbürgerschaft entscheiden, sollten Sie sich daher immer bei der zuständigen Einrichtung am Wohnort beraten lassen.

§ Scheinehe, Geschäftsheirat in Deutschland

Um nach Deutschland auszuwandern, versuchen einige Ausländer, eine Scheinehe mit einem deutschen Staatsbürger einzugehen. Dies geschieht häufig auf kostenpflichtiger Basis. Bevor Sie sich für einen solchen Schritt entscheiden, sollten folgende Punkte berücksichtigt werden:


§ Kommentare und Fragen von Besuchern der Seite:

Es gibt Kommentare in Russisch: 9, ansehen.

Neuer Kommentar:


Textbearbeitung: b k u m
Foto / Bild zum Kommentar


Speichern
Soziale Netzwerke
Informationen
Hauptrubriken der Seite
Über uns
Foto zur Seite
Eheschließung mit Ausländer in Deutschland
Sonstiges