RU-GELD.DE

Business, work and life in Germany in English

Pensions in Germany in 2021, 2020: retirement age, types of pensions, length of service, pension registration, applying for a pension

This page contains detailed information about retirement in Germany. Here you will learn about the retirement age, minimum length of service and how to apply for and receive pension, as well as about the amount of the social, minimum pension in Germany, how much pensioners receive in the country, how it is calculated, what types of pensions exist. Here you can also find out interesting details, for example, at what age men and women in Germany retire, how many pensioners are there in the country, and also what pensions are received in Germany by civil servants, police officers and representatives of other professions. The information on the page is mainly based on the data from the Federal Ministry for Labor and Social Affairs. At the bottom of the page you can share your experience on pensions. Further on, select the topics you are interested in from the content:


In addition, the information on an individual page of our website is devoted to the calculation and rate of pensions in Germany:

§ State social insurance system

First of all, it should be noted that in Germany there is a well-developed system of state social insurance. It guarantees the protection of citizens in case of illness, unemployment as well as in old age. State pension insurance is part of the German social insurance system. The institution responsible for pension insurance throughout Germany is called "Deutsche Rentenversicherung". It deals with the calculation and payment of pensions (pension in German: Rente). With the beginning of employment in Germany, a person is automatically insured in the state pension insurance system.

All the insured in the pension insurance system receive an individual insurance number "Versicherungsnummer" and an account in this system. When contacting Deutsche Rentenversicherung, you have to always have your insurance number on you. This number shall also be communicated to your employer along with the documents required when applying for a job in Germany. Registering in the state pension insurance system and the receipt of this insurance number for a person who does not yet have it is carried out either by the employer, or by the labour exchange or the health insurance fund.

Deutsche Rentenversicherung annually sends an information letter to each insured person over the age of 27, with the data as to what amount of pension s/he can expect at retirement.

On dedicated pages of our site you can find information about social assistance and basic benefits in Germany, as well as benefits for the unemployed and child benefits.

§ Retirement age of men and women in Germany in 2021, 2020

From what age a person in Germany can go on an old-age pension depends on his/ her year of birth. People born before 1947 reach retirement age at 65, then the retirement year gradually rises and all those born from 1964 and on reach retirement age only at 67. Thus, both men and women reach the standard retirement age in Germany at 65-67, depending on the year of birth. See the table below for more details.

Table 1: Retirement age in Germany

Year of birth Retirement age
before 1947 65 years of age
1947-1958 One more month is added to 65 years of age for 1 year gone by *
1958 66 years of age
1959-1963 Two more months are added to 66 years of age for 1 year gone by **
from 1964 on 67 years of age

* For example, if you were born in 1950, your standard retirement age is 65 years and 4 months old (since 4 years passed from 1947 to 1950, 1 month is added for each year)
** For example, if you were born in 1960, your standard retirement age is 66 years and 4 months old (since 2 years passed from 1959 to 1960, 2 months are added for each year)

Retirement age may occur earlier, due to special circumstances stipulated by law:

§ Pension insurance contributions in Germany

Contributions to the pension insurance system depend on the amount of wages/salary, the more a person earns, the more s/he pays. The transfer of these insurance premiums is the responsibility of the employer. The pension insurance contribution is deducted from the employee’s salary and from the employer's funds, i.e. 50% of the contribution is paid by the employee, and 50% - by the employer. The total amount of the pension contribution is calculated as follows: 18.60% of the employee’s gross salary (i.e., the wages from which taxes and charges have not yet been withheld). However, there is a limit, beyond which a person no longer pays insurance contributions: in case the salary exceeds 6900 euros, a person is charged with pension insurance fees for only 6900 euros, the remaining amount is free from the fee payment.

In August 2018, in Germany, it was decided that until 2025, pension contributions would not exceed 20% of the employees salaries.

If a person works on a basis (minijob), earning less than 450 euros per month, then the contribution to pension insurance is also 18.60% of the salary, at that 15% thereof is paid by the employer and only 3.6% - by the employee.

Table 2: Deductions from salaries to the German social security system in 2020

Type of insurance Total % of gross salary Employee’s share Employer’s share
Pension insurance 18.60 % 9.30 % 9.30 %
Health insurance 14.60 % 7.30 % 7.30 %
Unemployment insurance 2.40 % 1.20 % 1.20 %
Nursing insurance 3.05% 1.525% 1.525%
TOTAL: 38.650 % 19.325 % 19.325 %

Diagram 1 below shows the change in the pension insurance rate deducted from an employee's salary in Germany.

Diagram 1. Change in the pension insurance rate deducted from the gross salary in Germany by year

As can be seen from this diagram, the rate of charge to the pension insurance fund in Germany deducted from wages has been constantly increasing in recent decades, although in 2015 the level of pension contribution became lower and is now at the level of 1990. The rates of contributions for other types of social insurance in Germany are also gradually increasing year-on-year.

§ Length of service and getting a pension

The right to receive a pension under pension insurance can be exercised only if the insured has participated in pension insurance for a minimum number of years. This minimum period of participation in pension insurance in Germany is 5 years (Mindestversicherungszeit, Wartezeit). Only then can the person be eligible for a pension.

If the insured expects to receive a pension due to a long or particularly long period of participation in pension insurance, which gives them the opportunity to retire at an earlier age, these periods of participation in pension insurance should reach 35 and 45 years, respectively.

Participation in pension insurance embraces not only the time when a person has paid the statutory insurance contributions while working in a company, but also the time, during which the person has received unemployment benefits (ALG-I), taken care of a child for the first three years of his/her life (Kindererziehungszeiten) or of a sick family member. During the care of the child, despite the fact that the person does not pay insurance contributions, their pension will be calculated in the amount that is charged on average to each insured.

In general, it should be said that the rate of a pension in Germany depends on the amount of contributions and the duration of their payment to the state pension insurance system.

§ How to get a pension in Germany: applying for a pension

Obtaining any type of pension in Germany is possible only after applying for a pension (Rentenantrag). This application can be written without a specific form, as well as to speed up its consideration, with the use of special forms provided. These forms are available on the Deutsche Rentenversicherung page: Antrag auf Versichertenrente

The application for a pension has to be accompanied by documents that have not been taken into account by pension insurance bodies, for example, those certifying the person‘s education, time of receiving the unemployment benefits, children birth certificates and others.

In addition, when applying, you will be required to provide the following information:

It is advised to apply for a pension three months before retirement age. Delay in applying for a pension may result in a later start of the pension receiving.

§ Types of pensions in Germany

Depending on the life situation, age, gender and other conditions, a person can be paid different types of pensions and starting from different age. The list below shows all the main types of pensions in Germany:

§ Disability pensions, sickness benefit pensions

As mentioned above on the page, in the event of disability (full or partial) due to illness or accident, a person can expect to receive a pension before reaching the retirement age (Erwerbsminderungsrenten ). A person can start receiving this pension, even if s/he has not paid pension insurance contributions for the minimum period set, which at the moment amounts to 5 years. If an accident has occurred at work, already at the very beginning of labour activity (when paying only one contribution to the pension insurance fund), a person can expect to receive a disability pension. Occupational disease limiting the ability to work is also taken into account. If disability occurs due to domestic injury or illness, only those who have paid pension insurance contributions for at least 1 year (12 contributions) can receive a pension.

Before a decision is made on the payment of a disability pension, as a rule, it has to be ascertained whether it is possible to resume the labour activity via medical or professional rehabilitation. Partial disability pension is paid if a person can work less than 6 hours a day, not only in their degree field, but in any job. This is based on medical examinations and expert opinion.

For people with disabilities with a degree of disablement (Grad der Behinderung, GdB) of 50% or more, Germany provides an opportunity to retire at an earlier age. For this, it is also necessary to meet certain conditions and requirements. For more information, see the brochure, the link can be found at the bottom of the page.

§ How many pensioners are there in Germany?

The number of pensioners in Germany is not much more than 25 million people. Detailed information on the distribution by gender and land/federated state is presented in the table below.

Table 3: Number of pensioners in Germany as of 1 July 2019

German lands Number of retired men Number of retired women Total number of pensioners
Western Germany (the FRG) 7'633'245 12'269'439 15'266'490
Eastern Germany (the GDR) 1'943'889 3'225'790 3'887'778
TOTAL 9'577'134 15'495'229 25'072'363

§ Pension and divorce

When a marriage is dissolved in Germany, the principle of equalizing pension savings shall apply (Versorgungsausgleich), in accordance with which both spouses' pensions shall be divided equally between husband and wife. Thus, if one of the spouses has earned a larger pension than the other, for example, if a woman has been engaged in raising children and household, then upon dissolution of the marriage, the monthly paid pensions will be divided equally. The distribution of pensions in this way is thus made by court upon divorce without any application.

§ Links to the laws and official websites on the topic: pension in Germany

Basic information about pensions in Germany is available on the official website of the Deutsche Rentenversicherung Federal Pension Insurance and the website of the Ministry of Labour, as well as in the legislative documents governing the provision of pensions.

Detailed information on the rate and calculation of pensions in Germany can be found on a dedicated page of our website.

Footnotes:

* The EUR exchange rate in the tables is taken as of 19 october 2021 and amounts to 1.17 USD or 0.84 GBP at the European Central Bank exchange rate. The EUR, USD and GBR exchange rates in Germany


§ Comments and questions from the Site visitors:

Comments made in Russian: 62, view.

Comments made in Polish: 1, view.

New comment :


Text editing: b k u m
Photo / picture to the comment

Save
Follow us on
Information
Main sections
About us
Photo to page
Pensions ang pensioners in Germany
Orthes

RU-GELD.DE

Business, Arbeit und Leben in Deutschland: für Ausländer und Migranten

Renten in Deutschland in den Jahren 2021, 2020: Renteneintrittsalter, Rentenarten, Berufserfahrung, Rentenbeantragung

Auf dieser Seite finden Sie ausführliche Informationen zur Rente in Deutschland. Hier erfahren Sie, wie hoch das Renteneintrittsalter ist, die erforderlichen Mindestbeschäftigungsjahre und Beantragung der Rente. Ebenfalls erfahren Sie wie hoch die soziale Mindestrente in Deutschland ist, welche Summe Rentner im Land erhalten und wie sich die Arten der Rente berechnen. Hier erfahren Sie auch interessante Einzelheiten, zum Beispiel, ab welchem Alter Männer und Frauen in Deutschland in den Ruhestand treten, wie hoch die Anzahl der Rentner im Land ist und welche Renten in Deutschland von Beamten, Polizeibeamten und Vertretern anderer Berufe bezogen werden. Die Informationen auf der Seite basieren hauptsächlich auf Daten des Bundesministeriums für Arbeit und Soziales. Unten auf der Seite können Sie Ihre Erfahrungen über Renten teilen. Wählen Sie im Inhaltsverzeichnis weitere Themen, die Sie interessieren:


Des Weiteren finden Sie Informationen auf einer separaten Seite unserer Webseite zur Berechnung und Höhe der Renten in Deutschland:

§ Staatliches Sozialversicherungssystem

Zunächst ist anzumerken, dass das staatliche Sozialversicherungssystem in Deutschland gut ausgebaut ist. Es gewährleistet den Schutz der Bürger bei Krankheit, Arbeitslosigkeit und im Alter. Die gesetzliche Rentenversicherung ist Teil des deutschen Sozialversicherungssystems. Für die bundesweite Altersvorsorge ist die "Deutsche Rentenversicherung" zuständig. Sie befasst sich mit der Berechnung und Auszahlung der Renten. Mit Beginn der Berufstätigkeit in Deutschland wird eine Person automatisch in der gesetzlichen Rentenversicherung versichert.

Alle Versicherten der Rentenversicherung erhalten eine persönliche "Versicherungsnummer"und ein Konto in diesem System. Wenn Sie sich an die Deutsche Rentenversicherung wenden, müssen Sie immer Ihre Versicherungsnummer zur Hand haben. Diese Nummer muss auch Ihrem Arbeitgeber, zusammen mit den für die Bewerbung in Deutschland erforderlichen Unterlagen, mitgeteilt werden. Die Registrierung in der gesetzlichen Rentenversicherung und den Erhalt der Versicherungsnummer für eine Person, die diese noch nicht besitzt, übernimmt entweder der Arbeitgeber, die Agentur für Arbeit oder die Krankenkasse.

Die Deutsche Rentenversicherung versendet jährlich einen Informationsbrief an jeden Versicherten über 27Jahren, in dem angegeben ist, wie hoch die voraussichtliche Rente bei Renteneintritt sein wird.

Auf separaten Seiten unserer Webseite finden Sie Informationen zu Sozialhilfe und Grundsicherung in Deutschland,, sowie Leistungen bei Arbeitslosigkeit und Kindergeld.

§ Renteneintrittsalter von Männern und Frauen in Deutschland für die Jahre 2021, 2020

Ab wie vielen Jahren eine Person in Deutschland in die Altersrente gehen kann, hängt vom Geburtsjahr ab. Personen, die vor dem Jahr 1947 geboren sind, erreichen das Rentenalter mit 65 Jahren, danach steigt dies stetig an. Somit beträgt das Renteneintrittsalter für alle, die ab dem Jahr 1964 geboren sind 67 Jahre. Sowohl Männer als auch Frauen erreichen das normale Rentenalter in Deutschland je nach Geburtsjahr bei 65-67 Jahren. Detaillierte Informationen finden Sie in der folgenden Tabelle.

Tabelle 1: Renteneintrittsalter in Deutschland

Geburtsjahr Renteneintrittsalter
bis 1947 65 Jahre
1947-1958 Zu den 65 Jahren wird ein weiterer Monat für ein vergangenes Jahr angerechnet *
1958 66 Jahre
1959-1963 Zu den 66 Jahren werden zwei weitere Monate für ein vergangene Jahr angerechnet **
ab 1964 67 Jahre

* Beispiel: wenn Sie 1950 geboren wurden, beträgt Ihr normales Rentenalter 65 Jahre und 4 Monate (vom Jahr 1947 bis 1950 sind 4 Jahre vergangen, für jedes Jahr wird 1 Monat angerechnet).
** Beispiel: wenn Sie 1960 geboren wurden, beträgt Ihr normales Rentenalter 66 Jahre und 4 Monate (vom Jahr 1959 bis 1960 sind 2 Jahre vergangen, für jedes Jahr werden 2 Monate angerechnet).

Das Rentenalter kann aufgrund besonderer gesetzlich festgelegter Umstände früher eintreten:

§ Rentenversicherungsbeiträge in Deutschland

Die Beiträge zur Rentenversicherung hängen von der Höhe des Einkommens ab, je höher der Verdienst, desto höher die Beiträge. Die Abführung dieser Beiträge erfolgt durch den Arbeitgeber. Der Beitrag zur Rentenversicherung wird aus dem Gehalt des Arbeitnehmers und aus den Geldern des Arbeitgebers gezahlt, d.h. 50% werden vom Arbeitnehmer und 50% vom Arbeitgeber getragen. Der Gesamtbetrag des Rentenversicherungsbeitrags wird wie folgt berechnet: 18.60% des Bruttogehalts des Arbeitnehmers (d. H. von dem Gehalt, von dem noch keine Steuern und Abgaben einbehalten wurden). Es gibt jedoch eine Grenze, ab der eine Person keine Beiträge mehr bezahlt: verdient sie mehr als 6900 Euro, werden die Rentenversicherungsbeiträge ausschließlich von den 6900 Euro berechnet, der Rest ist beitragsfrei.

Im August 2018 wurde in Deutschland beschlossen, dass der Beitragssatz zur Rentenversicherung bis zum Jahr 2025 nicht 20% des Arbeitnehmerlohns übersteigen sollte.

Arbeitet eine Person auf basis (minijob) und verdient 450 Euro im Monat, so beträgt der Beitragssatz zur Rentenversicherung ebenfalls 18.60% des Gehalts, jedoch werden 15% vom Arbeitgeber und nur 3.6% vom Arbeitnehmer bezahlt.

Tabelle 2: Beitragssätze der Sozialversicherung in Deutschland für das Jahr2020

Versicherungsart Gesamtsatz in % des Bruttogehalts Anteil Arbeitnehmer Anteil Arbeitgeber
Rentenversicherung 18.60 % 9.30 % 9.30 %
Krankenversicherung 14.60 % 7.30 % 7.30 %
Arbeitslosenversicherung 2.40 % 1.20 % 1.20 %
Pflegeversicherung 3.05% 1.525% 1.525%
GESAMT: 38.650 % 19.325 % 19.325 %

Das nachfolgende Diagramm 1 zeigt die Veränderung des Rentenversicherungssatzes vom Arbeitnehmerlohn in Deutschland.

Diagramm 1. Veränderung des Rentenversicherungssatzes in% vom Bruttogehalt in Deutschland nach Jahren

Wie aus diesem Diagramm hervorgeht, ist der Beitragssatz zur Rentenversicherung in Deutschland in den letzten Jahrzehnten stetig gestiegen, obwohl der Rentenbetrag im Jahr 2015 auf den Stand vom Jahr 1990 gefallen ist. Die Beitragssätze der anderen Sozialversicherungszweige steigen ebenfalls jährlich an.

§ Beschäftigungszeit und Rentenanspruch

Der Anspruch auf eine Rente aus der gesetzlichen Rentenversicherung besteht nur, wenn eine Person eine bestimmte Anzahl von Jahren in die Rentenversicherung eingezahlt hat. Diese Mindestversicherungsdauer in der gesetzlichen Rentenversicherung in Deutschland beträgt 5 Jahre (Mindestversicherungszeit, Wartezeit). Nur in diesem Fall hat die Person einen Anspruch auf den Erhalt der Rente.

Erwartet der Versicherte eine Rente aufgrund einer langen oder besonders langen Versicherungszeit, welche ihm die Möglichkeit gibt früher in den Ruhestand zu treten, so sollte diese Versicherungszeit in der Rentenversicherung 35 bzw. 45 Jahre betragen.

Der Versicherungszeit wird nicht nur die Beschäftigungszeit, in der die gesetzlichen Beiträge vom Gehalt bezahlt wurden angerechnet, sondern auch die Zeit des Bezuges von Arbeitslosengeld (ALG-I), Erziehung eines Kindes (Kindererziehungszeiten) in den ersten drei Lebensjahren oder die Pflege eines behinderten Familienmitglieds. Während der Erziehung eines Kindes erhält der Versicherte, obwohl er keine Versicherungsbeiträge bezahlt, eine Anrechnung auf die Rente in der Höhe, die im Durchschnitt für jeden Versicherten anfällt.

Im Allgemeinen hängt die Höhe einer Rente in Deutschland von der Höhe der Beiträge und der Dauer der Beitragszahlung zur gesetzlichen Rentenversicherung ab.

§ So erhalten Sie eine Rente in Deutschland: Beantragung der Rente

Der Bezug von Renten jeglicher Art in Deutschland ist nur nach Beantragung (Rentenantrag) möglich. Diese Beantragung kann ohne einen bestimmten Antrag erfolgen oder auch, um die Prüfung zu beschleunigen, mithilfe der vorgesehenen Formulare. Diese Formulare finden Sie auf der Seite der Deutschen Rentenversicherung: Antrag auf Versichertenrente

Dem Rentenantrag sind Unterlagen beizufügen, die von der Rentenversicherung nicht berücksichtigt wurden, z. B. Bildungsnachweis, Zeitraum des Bezuges von Arbeitslosengeld, Geburtsurkunden von Kindern und weitere.

Außerdem müssen Sie bei der Beantragung Folgendes mitteilen:

Es ist empfehlenswert einen Rentenantrag drei Monate vor dem Renteneintrittsalter einzureichen. Eine verspätete Beantragung der Rente kann zu einem späteren Beginn des Rentenbezugs führen.

§ Rentenarten in Deutschland

Abhängig von der Lebenssituation, dem Alter, dem Geschlecht und anderen Faktoren können verschiedene Arten von Renten an eine Person ab einem unterschiedlichen Alter ausgezahlt werden. Die folgende Liste zeigt alle wesentlichen Rentenarten in Deutschland:

§ Erwerbsminderungsrente

Wie bereits oben auf der Seite erwähnt, hat eine Person im Falle einer vollständigen oder teilweisen Erwerbsunfähigkeit, aufgrund von Krankheit oder Unfall, Anspruch auf eine Rente vor Erreichen des Rentenalters (Erwerbsminderungsrente). Der Anspruch bleibt auch dann bestehen, wenn eine Person die Mindestversicherungsdauer von momentan festgelegten 5 Jahren nicht erfüllt hat. Wenn sich bereits zu Beginn der Erwerbstätigkeit ein Arbeitsunfall ereignet (wenn nur ein Beitrag zur Rentenversicherung gezahlt wurde), hat eine Person den Anspruch auf eine Erwerbsminderungsrente. Eine Berufskrankheit, die eine Erwerbstätigkeit einschränkt, wird ebenfalls berücksichtigt. Tritt eine Erwerbsunfähigkeit aufgrund einer gewöhnlichen Verletzung oder Krankheit auf, können nur Personen eine Rente erhalten, die mindestens ein Jahr lang Rentenversicherungsbeiträge (12 Beiträge) gezahlt haben.

Bevor eine Entscheidung über die Auszahlung einer Erwerbsminderungsrente getroffen wird, muss in der Regel geprüft werden, ob die Wiederherstellung der Erwerbstätigkeit mit einer medizinischen oder beruflichen Rehabilitation möglich ist. Teilweise Erwerbsminderungsrente wird in dem Fall gezahlt, wenn eine Person weniger als 6 Stunden am Tag arbeiten kann, und zwar nicht nur in ihrem Fachgebiet, sondern in jedem Beruf. Dies wird auf der Grundlage von medizinischen Untersuchungen und Urteilen von Experten festgestellt.

Für Menschen mit einem Grad der Behinderung (GdB) von 50% oder mehr, besteht die Möglichkeit früher in den Ruhestand zu treten. Hier müssen auch bestimmte Bedingungen und Voraussetzungen erfüllt werden. Weitere Informationen finden Sie in der Broschüre unter dem Link unten auf der Seite.

§ Wie viele Rentner gibt es in Deutschland?

Die Zahl der Rentner in Deutschland beträgt nicht viel mehr als 25 Millionen Menschen. Detaillierte Informationen aufgeteilt nach Geschlecht und Bundesland finden Sie in der folgenden Tabelle.

Tabelle 3: Anzahl der Rentner in Deutschland zum 1 Juli 2019

Bundesländer Anzahl männlicher Rentner Anzahl weiblicher Rentner Gesamtzahl der Rentner
Westdeutschland 7'633'245 12'269'439 15'266'490
Ostdeutschland 1'943'889 3'225'790 3'887'778
GESAMT 9'577'134 15'495'229 25'072'363

§ Rente und Scheidung

Bei Scheidung der Ehe gilt der Grundsatz des Rentenausgleichs, wonach die Renten beider Ehegatten zu gleichen Teilen zwischen Ehemann und Ehefrau aufgeteilt werden (Versorgungsausgleich). Wenn also einer der Ehepartner eine höhere Rente als der andere erhielt, beispielsweise wenn eine Frau mit der Kindererziehung und Haushalt beschäftigt war, werden die monatlich gezahlten Renten bei Scheidung der Ehe zu gleichen Teilen aufgeteilt. Auf diese Weise erfolgt die Aufteilung der Renten bei Scheidung ohne irgendwelche Anträge.

§ Links zu Gesetzen und offiziellen Seiten zum Thema: Rente in Deutschland

Die wichtigsten Informationen zu Renten in Deutschland finden Sie auf der offiziellen Webseite der Deutschen Rentenversicherung und des Arbeitsministeriums.

Detaillierte Informationen zu Rentenhöhe und Rentenberechnung in Deutschland finden Sie auf einer separaten Seite unserer Webseite.

Fußnoten:

* Der in den Tabellen angegebene Euro-Wechselkurs wurde am 27 September 2021 ermittelt und beträgt 1.17 USD, 0.85 GBP, 85.00 Rubel und 4.60 Zloty zum Kurs der Europäischen Zentralbank. Wechselkurse von Euro, US-Dollar, Rubel und Zloty in Deutschland


§ Kommentare und Fragen von Besuchern der Seite:

Es gibt Kommentare in Russisch: 62, ansehen.

Es gibt Kommentare in Polnisch: 1, ansehen.

Neuer Kommentar:


Textbearbeitung: b k u m
Foto / Bild zum Kommentar


Speichern
Soziale Netzwerke
Informationen
Hauptrubriken der Seite
Über uns
Foto zur Seite
Rente und Rentner in Deutschland
Sonstiges