RU-GELD.DE

Business, work and life in Germany in English

Permanent residence in Germany: rights and possibilities of moving for permanent residence in Germany

In this section of our website you will learn how to relocate, move to permanent residence from other countries to Germany, what documents give the right to permanent residence in the country, how to get a visa and obtain a permanent residence permit. Each possibility of moving is considered in detail on a dedicated page of the site.


The European Union citizens have the right to come to Germany for permanent residence without any restrictions, but this is not the case for the citizens of other states, such as Russia, Kazakhstan, Ukraine, etc. In order to have a permanent place of residence (PPR) or regular domicile in Germany, you have to obtain the required documents or status, giving the right to permanent residence in the country. From the table below you will find out what documents grant the right to live in Germany.

Table 1. Documents giving the right to permanent residence in Germany

Document, status Document, status in German Explanation
German citizenship Staatsbürgerschaft All citizens of Germany have a interstate German citizenship and are at the same time the citizens of the European Union. Under certain conditions, foreigners can obtain the German citizenship.
The EU citizenship Unionsbürgerschaft Citizens of the countries belonging to the European Union can freely enter, live and work in Germany. In case of obtaining citizenship in another EU country, you can thus obtain the German permanent residence permit.
German residence permit Niederlassungserlaubnis A residence permit gives the right to indefinite residence and unlimited employment. This document can be obtained by/upon a long stay in the country.
The EU long-term residence permit Erlaubnis zum Daueraufenthalt-EU The right to indefinite residence and unlimited employment, as well as the right to temporary stay in any country of the European Union.
The EU Blue Card Blaue Karte EU The document permitting residence and work in Germany for a period of several years, with the possibility of extension.
Permit to stay in Germany Aufenthaltserlaubnis, Aufenthaltstitel A temporary residence permit for Germany is usually issued for a period of up to three years with the possibility of further extension. The right to engage in labour activities, employment is specified in this document in a particular way.

§ Obtaining a visa for permanent residence in Germany

Visas are documents that give the right you to enter Germany for a specific purpose and, as such themselves, do not give the right to permanent residence in Germany; usually, a visa is limited in time by several months. A visa has to be obtained to get a permit to enter Germany, after which a person who has the right to permanent residence in the country can apply for one of the documents listed in table 1, that will give the right to a long-term or permanent stay. On dedicated pages of our site you will find detailed information about all types of visas: visas to Germany.

§ How to move to permanent residence to Germany from other countries

To obtain a permanent place of residence and relocate to Germany, you have to get a residence permit or the German or EU citizenship, these documents or status allow you to have a permanent place of residence in Germany, yet, obtaining them right away/ without delay is a very rare case, for example, if a person has a German origin and meets the ethnic German resettlers program requirements. The conditions for obtaining these documents or the said status are described in detail on dedicated pages of our website.

The usual way to obtain the permanent residence permit in the Federal Republic of Germany, is to come to the country for any permitted purpose, which implies a long-term stay in the country (for example: work, study, marriage, business, political asylum), to get a stay permit, which is usually issued for 3 years in this case; to find work over this period of time so as not to depend on the financial support on the part of the state, then extend the permit to stay; and over time, this will allow the said person to meet the requirements for obtaining a residence permit or citizenship, thus acquiring a permanent place of residence in Germany. Table 2 below presents 20 legitimate opportunities or ways for getting a permanent residence permit in the country.

Table 2. Ways of getting a permanent residence permit in Germany

Nr Opportunity for permanent residence Documents, status
1. Long-term residence, stay in the country Residence permit or Citizenship
2. Marriage with a German citizen Permit to stay or Residence permit - > Citizenship
3. Citizenship by birth, under certain conditions Citizenship
4. Adoption of a child under 18 Citizenship
5. Ethnic German resettlers/ Late resettlers Citizenship
6. Ethnic German resettlers, family members Citizenship
7. Ethnic German resettlers, other family members Permit to stay - > Residence permit - > Citizenship
8. Work in Germany for university-educated, college-bred specialists Permit to stay - > Residence permit - > Citizenship
9. Work in Germany for specialists without higher education in professions in demand Permit to stay - > Residence permit - > Citizenship
10. Starting your own business Permit to stay - > Residence permit - > Citizenship
11. Becoming an entrepreneur in a free profession (freelancing) Permit to stay - > Residence permit - > Citizenship
12. Working as a volunteer Does not lead to getting a permanent residence permit; during your stay you have to find a job or go to college and obtain a permit to stay in the country for a new reason.
13. Practical training student internship Does not lead to obtaining a permanent residence permit; during your stay you have to find a job or go to university and get a permit to stay in the country for another reason.
14. Working under the au-pair program Does not lead to obtaining a permanent residence permit; during your stay you have to find a job or begin your studies and obtain a permit to stay in the country for a new reason.
15. Higher education After studying, find a job and obtain a permit to work in Germany, then follow the conditions of obtaining a Residence permit / the Citizenship.
16. Getting vocational education and training Upon graduation, find a job and obtain a permit to work in Germany, then follow the conditions of obtaining a Residence permit / the Citizenship.
17. The right to asylum for the persons persecuted for political reasons Permit to stay - > Residence permit - > Citizenship
18. Granting asylum to victims of persecution in the country of origin. Permit to stay - > Residence permit - > Citizenship
19. Subsidiary, auxiliary protection for refugees Permit to stay - > Residence permit - > Citizenship
20. Jewish immigration to Germany Residence permit - > Citizenship

If you are aware of other opportunities or ways to get permanent residence in Germany or you have the experience of relocating permanently to the country, we suggest that you share it below on the page in the comments and questions section.


§ Comments and questions from the Site visitors:

Comments made in Russian: 3, view.

Comments made in Polish: 3, view.

New comment :


Text editing: b k u m
Photo / picture to the comment

Save
Follow us on
Information
Main sections
About us
Photo to page
Move to Germany for permanent residence
Orthes

RU-GELD.DE

Business, Arbeit und Leben in Deutschland: für Ausländer und Migranten

Daueraufenthalt in Deutschland: Rechte und Möglichkeiten eines Umzugs für einen dauerhaften Wohnsitz in Deutschland

In diesem Abschnitt unserer Webseite erfahren Sie, wie Sie aus anderen Ländern nach Deutschland umziehen, welche Dokumente das Recht auf ständigen Wohnsitz im Land gewähren, wie Sie ein Visum eröffnen und einen ständigen Wohnsitz erhalten. Jede Möglichkeit des Umzugs wird auf einer separaten Seite der Webseite ausführlich behandelt.


Bürger der Europäischen Union haben das Recht, ohne Einschränkungen für einen dauerhaften Aufenthalt nach Deutschland zu ziehen. Dies gilt jedoch nicht für Bürger anderer Staaten wie Russland, Kasachstan, Ukraine usw. Um einen ständigen Wohnsitz in Deutschland zu haben, müssen entsprechende Dokumente oder der Status erhalten werden, um das Recht auf einen ständigen Wohnsitz im Land zu erhalten. In der folgenden Tabelle erfahren Sie, welche Dokumente das Aufenthaltsrecht in Deutschland gewähren.

Tabelle 1. Dokumente, die das Recht auf ständigen Wohnsitz in Deutschland gewähren

Dokument, Status Document, status in Englisch Beschreibung
German citizenship Staatsbürgerschaft Alle deutschen Staatsbürger verfügen über eine deutsche Staatsbürgerschaft und sind gleichzeitig Staatsbürger der Europäischen Union. Ausländer können unter bestimmten Umständen die deutsche Staatsbürgerschaft erhalten.
The EU citizenship Unionsbürgerschaft Bürger von EU-Ländern können frei nach Deutschland einreisen, leben und arbeiten. Wenn Sie die Staatsbürgerschaft in einem anderen EU-Land erhalten, können Sie somit einen ständigen Wohnsitz in Deutschland erhalten.
German residence permit Niederlassungserlaubnis Die Niederlassungserlaubnis gibt das Recht auf Daueraufenthalt und unbefristete Beschäftigung. Dieses Dokument kann bei einem längeren Aufenthalt im Land erhalten werden.
The EU long-term residence permit Erlaubnis zum Daueraufenthalt-EU Das Recht auf Daueraufenthalt und unbefristete Beschäftigung, sowie das Recht auf vorübergehenden Aufenthalt in einem beliebigen Land der Europäischen Union.
The EU Blue Card Blaue Karte EU Dokument, das den Aufenthalt und die Arbeit in Deutschland für einen Zeitraum von mehreren Jahren mit der Möglichkeit einer Verlängerung ermöglicht.
Permit to stay in Germany Aufenthaltserlaubnis, Aufenthaltstitel Befristete Aufenthaltserlaubnis in Deutschland, in der Regel für bis zu drei Jahre mit der Möglichkeit einer weiteren Verlängerung. Das Recht auf Arbeit ist in diesem Dokument gesondert festgelegt.

§ Erhalt eines Visums für einen dauerhaften Aufenthalt in Deutschland

Visa sind Dokumente, die das Recht einräumen, für einen bestimmten Zweck nach Deutschland einzureisen, die aber nicht automatisch einen dauerhaften Aufenthalt in Deutschland erlauben. In der Regel ist ein Visum zeitlich auf mehrere Monate begrenzt. Für die Einreise nach Deutschland muss ein Visum beantragt werden. Danach kann eine Person, die das Recht auf ständigen Wohnsitz im Land hat, eines der in Tabelle 1 aufgeführten Dokumente beantragen, um das Recht auf einen langen oder dauerhaften Aufenthalt zu erhalten. Auf den einzelnen Seiten unserer Webseite finden Sie detaillierte Informationen zu allen Arten von Visa: Visa nach Deutschland.

§ Umzug nach Deutschland aus anderen Ländern

Um einen ständigen Wohnsitz zu erhalten und nach Deutschland zu ziehen, benötigen Sie eine Niederlassungserlaubnis oder die Staatsbürgerschaft Deutschlands oder die Unionsbürgerschaft. Diese Dokumente oder der Status ermöglichen Ihnen einen ständigen Wohnsitz in Deutschland. Sie können jedoch nur sehr selten erworben werden, wenn beispielsweise eine Person deutsche Wurzeln hat und die Bedingungen des Programms für Spätmigranten erfüllt. Die Voraussetzungen für den Erhalt dieser Dokumente oder diesen Status werden auf separaten Seiten unserer Webseite ausführlich beschrieben.

Der übliche Weg, um einen ständigen Wohnsitz in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland zu erhalten, besteht darin, zu einem zulässigen Zweck in das Land zu kommen, der einen langen Aufenthalt im Land beinhaltet (z. B. Arbeit, Studium, Heirat, Geschäft, politisches Asyl), um hierfür eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis zu erhalten, die normalerweise für 3 Jahre ausgestellt wird. In dieser Zeit sollte man sich eine Arbeit finden, um nicht auf finanzielle Unterstützung des Staates angewiesen zu sein. Danach kann die Aufenthaltserlaubnis verlängert werden, und im Laufe der Zeit kann eine Person die Voraussetzungen für die Erlangung einer Niederlassungserlaubnis oder Staatsbürgerschaft erfüllen und so einen dauerhaften Aufenthalt in Deutschland erwerben. In der folgenden Tabelle 2 sind 20 rechtliche Möglichkeiten oder Methoden für die Erlangung eines ständigen Wohnsitzes im Land aufgeführt.

Tabelle 2. Möglichkeiten zur Erlangung eines ständigen Wohnsitzes in Deutschland

Nr. Möglichkeit für ständigen Wohnsitz Dokumente, Status
1. Langer Aufenthalt im Land Niederlassungserlaubnis oder Staatsbürgerschaft
2. Ehe mit einer deutschen Person Aufenthaltserlaubnis oder Niederlassungserlaubnis -> Staatsbürgerschaft
3. Staatsbürgerschaft aufgrund von Geburt, unter bestimmten Bedingungen Staatsbürgerschaft
4. Adoption eines Kindes unter 18 Jahren Staatsbürgerschaft
5. Spätaussiedler Staatsbürgerschaft
6. Familienmitglieder eines Spätaussiedlers Staatsbürgerschaft
7. Andere Familienangehörige eines Spätaussiedlers Aufenthaltserlaubnis -> Niederlassungserlaubnis -> Staatsbürgerschaft
8. Arbeit in Deutschland für Fachkräfte mit Hochschulausbildung Aufenthaltserlaubnis -> Niederlassungserlaubnis -> Staatsbürgerschaft
9. Arbeit in Deutschland für Fachkräfte ohne Hochschulausbildung in gefragten Berufen Aufenthaltserlaubnis -> Niederlassungserlaubnis -> Staatsbürgerschaft
10. Eigenes Unternehmen gründen Aufenthaltserlaubnis -> Niederlassungserlaubnis -> Staatsbürgerschaft
11. Als Freiberufler tätig sein Aufenthaltserlaubnis -> Niederlassungserlaubnis -> Staatsbürgerschaft
12. Ehrenamtliche Tätigkeit Führt nicht zu einer Niederlassungserlaubnis; Während des Aufenthalts muss eine Arbeit oder Studium gefunden werden und eine Aufenthaltsgenehmigung aus einem neuen Grund erhalten werden.
13. Praktikum für Studenten, Arbeitspraktikum Führt nicht zu einer Niederlassungserlaubnis; Während des Aufenthalts muss eine Arbeit oder Studium gefunden werden und eine Aufenthaltsgenehmigung aus einem neuen Grund erhalten werden.
14. Au-pair-Programm Führt nicht zu einer Niederlassungserlaubnis; Während des Aufenthalts muss eine Ausbildung gefunden werden und eine Aufenthaltsgenehmigung aus einem neuen Grund erhalten werden.
15. Studium an einer Universität Nach dem Studium muss eine Arbeitsstelle gefunden und eine Arbeitserlaubnis beantragt werden. Danach kann unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen eine Niederlassungserlaubnis / Staatsbürgerschaft erhalten werden.
16. Berufsausbildung Nach der Ausbildung muss eine Arbeitsstelle gefunden und eine Arbeitserlaubnis beantragt werden. Danach kann unter bestimmten Voraussetzungen eine Niederlassungserlaubnis / Staatsbürgerschaft erhalten werden.
17. Recht auf Asyl, Verfolgte aus politischen Gründen Aufenthaltserlaubnis -> Niederlassungserlaubnis -> Staatsbürgerschaft
18. Asyl für Verfolgungsopfer im Herkunftsland Aufenthaltserlaubnis -> Niederlassungserlaubnis -> Staatsbürgerschaft
19. Subsidiärer Schutz Aufenthaltserlaubnis -> Niederlassungserlaubnis -> Staatsbürgerschaft
20. Jüdische Einwanderung Residence permit - > Citizenship

Wenn Sie andere Möglichkeiten oder Wege kennen, einen dauerhaften Wohnsitz in Deutschland zu erhalten, oder wenn Sie bereits Erfahrungen mit einem dauerhaften Umzug in ein Land haben, empfehlen wir Ihnen, dies unten auf der Seite im Abschnitt "Kommentare und Fragen" mitzuteilen.


§ Kommentare und Fragen von Besuchern der Seite:

Es gibt Kommentare in Russisch: 3, ansehen.

Es gibt Kommentare in Polnisch: 3, ansehen.

Neuer Kommentar:


Textbearbeitung: b k u m
Foto / Bild zum Kommentar


Speichern
Soziale Netzwerke
Informationen
Hauptrubriken der Seite
Über uns
Foto zur Seite
Daueraufenthalt in Deutschland
Sonstiges