RU-GELD.DE

Business, work and life in Germany in English

Volunteers in Germany: volunteer programs, voluntary social (service) and environmental year in Germany, visa getting

Volunteering or good causes are very popular in Germany, foreigners from different countries can engage in them as well. On this page you will learn, which state-supported volunteer programs are underway in Germany, what the conditions for participation are, as well as how to find a suitable position for the volunteer activities, to obtain a volunteer visa, and to arrive in Germany.


§ Volunteer programs in Germany

The Federal Volunteer Service is very popular in Germany, and about 30% of the country population is engaged in some volunteer or community activities. The Basic Law, regulating the volunteer activities of the youth and covering the major volunteer programs, is the “Youth Volunteer Services Act, JFDG)”. The “Federal Volunteer Service Act (Bundesfreiwilligendienstgesetz – BFDG)” regulates volunteer activities of adults and younger people in the social, ecological, and cultural spheres. Links to the laws see below on the page.

Volunteer workers are provided with housing, food, are socially protected and receive pocket money.

Volunteer activities are organized by various associations, initiatives, and charity organizations, both public and private or religious. Volunteer assistants are either full-time engaged in social work, or devote some time to this weekly. Apart from the country residents, foreigners, too, may take part in the volunteer activities. The volunteer workers are usually provided with housing and meals as well as are socially protected. They receive pocket money, the amount of which depends on the program of the respective land/ federated state, the hosting institution as well as other factors, and usually makes 150-200 euros and more. In particular, the programs being underway in Germany and open for new participants are as follows:

List of volunteer programs in Germany

Below on the page you will find a description of these volunteer programs and the main conditions to participate in them.

§ Volunteer agencies, movements, initiatives in Germany

Implementation of large-scope volunteer programs as well as other volunteer missions and movements in Germany is being attended by multiple agencies, services, and initiatives, which offer consultations, help in search for and selection of the hosting party, and provide support for volunteers. The Federal Association of Volunteer Agencies (in German: Bundesarbeitsgemeinschaft der Freiwilligenagenturen or BAGFA) unifies over 200 agencies in many cities of Germany, and the full list/a comprehensive list of such member agencies can be found on its website. Below are the major German and international agencies and services operating in the country.

List of volunteer agencies and services in Germany

§ Volunteer Social Year in Germany

Voluntary social (service) year (in German: Freiwilliges Soziales Jahr, or FSJ) is one of Germany's largest youth volunteer programs. Young people who have finished school, and up to 26 years of age inclusive, are invited to participate in this program. Under this program, participants are paid for room and board, as well as some pocket money. Volunteer youth spend a voluntary social year helping in hospitals, nursing homes, schools, kindergartens, etc.

Title in German Freiwilliges Soziales Jahr, FSJ
Age limits from 16 through to 27 years of age
Duration 6, 12, or 24 months
Venues of volunteer activities
  • Hospitals, nursing homes for elderly people;
  • Monuments care/ maintenance;
  • Sports associations;
  • Kindergartens and schools;
  • Theaters, museums, and clubs;
Disbursements and provision Accommodation, meals, social payments, pocket money, professional and pedagogical support
Website of the FSJ Association pro-fsj.de
Website of youth programs jugendfreiwilligendienste.de

§ Volunteer Ecological, environmental year in Germany

The Volunteer Ecological Year/ Voluntary environmental year (in German: Freiwilliges Ökologisches Jahr or FÖJ) is a large-scale government volunteer program, under which the participants perform the volunteer works related to the protection of nature and climate and care for animals, as well as help in forestry and agriculture. The association of organizations taking part in the given program includes over 50 organizations, which offer 3600 volunteer jobs. This program is intended for young people under the age of 27 years old. A voluntary environmental year usually begins with the start of the school year.

Title in German Freiwilliges Ökologisches Jahr, FÖJ
Age limits from 16 through to 27 years of age
Duration 6, 12, or 24 months
Venues of volunteer activities
  • Organizations for nature protection, climate protection;
  • Institutions for environmental education;
  • Nature reserves and national parks;
  • Zoos, pet corners/ nature corners;
  • Agriculture, gardens;
Disbursements and provision Accommodation, meals, social payments, pocket money, professional and pedagogical support
Website of the FÖJ Association foej.de
Website of the ÖBFD Association oeko-bundesfreiwilligendienst.de

§ Federal Volunteer Service in Germany

The Federal Volunteer Service or volunteer/voluntary activities (in German, Bundesfreiwilligendienst, or BFD) are a large-scale government volunteer program in Germany without any age limitations. Within the framework of this program, thousands of jobs are offered in such spheres as ecology, social work, sports, and culture, where participants can join the volunteer activities. Places of work have to be pre-approved by the state. On the official website of this program it is possible to choose a suitable place for the volunteer work. The participants are not required to have a certain level of education or professional experience. Foreigners, too, may participate in the given program; to this purpose they have to obtain a permit to stay in Germany.

Title in German Bundesfreiwilligendienst, BFD
Age limits No age limits
Duration 6, 12, 18, or 24 months, full-time and part-time work
Venues of volunteer activities
  • Social activities;
  • Help in schools and kindergartens;
  • Help in hospitals as well as in nursing homes for elderly people;
  • Ecology, assistants in parks and zoos;
  • Sports and sports activities;
  • Integration;
  • Work at institutions of culture;
Disbursements and provision Seminars, clothes, accommodation, meals, insurance, social payments, and pocket money
Website www.bundesfreiwilligendienst.de

§ Volunteer camps in Germany

The volunteer or work camps (in German, Workcamps) are a program of volunteer activities to implement minor-scale projects. The volunteer camps are organized for young people who wish to engage in voluntary activities. In such camps, the volunteers are provided with accommodation and meals, as well as with time for rest, learning/ training, excursions, etc. The volunteers spend part of the day being busy with the socially useful works, and devote the other part of the day to having rest. So, this program offers an excellent opportunity for volunteers work and rest. Volunteer camps operate throughout the world and invite young people at the age between 16 and 26 years old, although in some cases there can be exceptions in terms of age. Usually young people work in such camps for several weeks.

In Germany, they organize over 350 camps per year, and each group usually includes up to 20 persons from different countries. Setting and development of the camps is the responsibility of about 60 organizations being unified in 6 central offices and accountable to the German Federal Ministry of Family Affairs, Senior Citizens, Women and Youth. The given program is financed from the government funds.

Title in German Workcamps, Jugendgemeinschaftsdienste
Age limits From 16 through to 26 years old, with exceptions
Duration 2 – 4 weeks
Venues of volunteer activities
  • Social and cultural projects;
  • Preservation of monuments;
  • Ecological projects;
  • Care for senior people;
  • Youth clubs;
  • National wildlife reserves;
  • Restoration works;
Website workcamps.org

§ Getting a visa for volunteer work in Germany

Citizens of foreign states other than those of the European Union, have to receive a volunteer visa in order to enter Germany and take part in one of the volunteer programs. For receiving the related consultation, it is necessary to apply to the German Embassy or Consulate in the applicant’s home country by the place of their residence. The organizations implementing the said programs usually help foreigners in processing their documents for the visa issue. In order to receive the visa, a foreigner has to collect a package of documents, the major of which are listed below. Depending on the visa type and country of origin, a different list of documents may be required. Depending on the visa validity term and the volunteer service duration, it may be necessary to extend the visa or obtain a permit to stay in the country; to do this, contact the Foreigners Registration Office local department (in German: Ausländerbehörde).

Documents for a volunteer visa to Germany

Prospects, Opportunities

Participating in the volunteer activities, young people from other countries can get to know Germany better, while communication among the Germans would give them a chance to improve their knowledge of the German or English language, along with gaining interesting life experience. Besides, young people can get the experience of working in a certain sphere of activities, which might be useful in the choice of their future profession, so the chances of getting a suitable place for education/ training would grow.

If a foreigner wants to work or study in Germany in future, participation in the volunteer activities may improve their chances to this regard. As in the course of their volunteer activities foreigners usually attend the German language instruction courses and communicate with Germans, they would substantially improve their knowledge of German, while the advanced level of proficiency in the German language is a condition for receiving a job or a vacant position for studies in Germany. Besides, the foreigners, who have already lived and worked in this country within the framework of the volunteer movement, improve their chances for getting a job in Germany, and while being in the country in their volunteer capacity, they can find out the available opportunities for employment and study.


§ Comments and questions from the Site visitors:

Visitors’ comments:

Comments made in Russian: 4, view.

New comment :


Text editing: b k u m
Photo / picture to the comment

Save
Follow us on
Information
Main sections
About us
Photo to page
Volunteer programs in Germany
Orthes

RU-GELD.DE

Business, Arbeit und Leben in Deutschland: für Ausländer und Migranten

Freiwillige in Deutschland: Freiwilligenprogramme, freiwilliges soziales und ökologisches Jahr in Deutschland, Eröffnung eines Visums

Freiwilligenarbeit oder ehrenamtliche Tätigkeit ist in Deutschland sehr beliebt, und Ausländer aus verschiedenen Ländern, können sich ebenfalls daran beteiligen. Auf dieser Seite erfahren Sie, welche staatlichen Freiwilligenprogramme in Deutschland durchgeführt werden, unter welchen Voraussetzungen Sie teilnehmen können und wie Sie einen geeigneten Ort für eine ehrenamtliche Tätigkeit finden, ein Freiwilligenvisum beantragen und nach Deutschland kommen können.


§ Freiwilligenprogramme in Deutschland

Öffentliche Arbeit ist in Deutschland sehr verbreitet, etwa 30% der Menschen im Land sind ehrenamtlich oder sozial tätig. Das grundlegende Gesetz, das die Freiwilligentätigkeiten junger Menschen und die wichtigsten freiwilligen Programme regelt, ist das „Gesetz zur Förderung von Jugendfreiwilligendiensten“. Das "Bundesfreiwilligendienstgesetz" regelt die Freiwilligentätigkeiten von Erwachsenen und Jugendlichen im sozialen, ökologischen und kulturellen Bereich. Links zu den Gesetzen finden Sie weiter unten auf der Seitee.

Freiwillige Helfer erhalten Unterkunft, Verpflegung, sind sozial abgesichert und erhalten Taschengeld.

Die Organisation der Freiwilligenarbeit wird von verschiedenen Verbänden, Initiativen, gemeinnützigen Organisationen, sowohl öffentlichen als auch privaten oder religiösen durchgeführt. Freiwillige Helfer sind entweder hauptberuflich in der Sozialarbeit tätig oder nehmen sich pro Woche etwas Zeit dafür. Neben den Bewohnern des Landes können auch Ausländer an freiwilligen Tätigkeiten teilnehmen. Freiwillige Arbeitnehmer erhalten in der Regel Wohnraum, Lebensmittel und soziale Absicherung. Sie erhalten Taschengeld, dessen Höhe vom Programm, dem Bundesland, der Institution und anderen Faktoren abhängt und in der Regel 150,00 bis 200,00 Euro oder mehr beträgt. Insbesondere hat Deutschland folgende Programme, an denen Sie teilnehmen können:

Liste der Freiwilligenprogramme in Deutschland

Weiter auf der Seite finden Sie eine Beschreibung dieser Freiwilligenprogramme und der wichtigsten Bedingungen zur Teilnahme.

§ Freiwilligenagenturen, Bewegungen, Initiativen in Deutschland

Die Durchführung der größten Freiwilligenprogramme sowie anderer Freiwilligenmissionen und -bewegungen in Deutschland wird von zahlreichen Agenturen, Diensten und Initiativen vorgenommen, die Beratungen durchführen, bei der Suche und Auswahl einer Stelle helfen und Ehrenamtliche unterstützen. Der größte Verband heißt Bundesarbeitsgemeinschaft der Freiwilligenagenturen BAGFA und hat in vielen Städten Deutschlands mehr als 200 Agenturen; Eine vollständige Liste finden Sie auf der Webseite des Verbandes. Im Folgenden sind die wichtigsten deutschen und internationalen Agenturen und Dienstleistungen des Landes aufgeführt.

Liste der Freiwilligenagenturen und -dienste in Deutschland

§ Freiwilliges Soziales Jahr in Deutschland

Ein freiwilliges Soziales Jahr (FSJ) ist eines der größten Freiwilligenprogramme für Jugendliche in Deutschland. An diesem Programm können Jugendliche teilnehmen, die die Schule beendet haben und nicht älter als 26 Jahre (einschließlich) sind. Im Rahmen dieses Programms erhalten die Teilnehmer Unterkunft und Verpflegung, sowie Taschengeld. Die Jugendlichen absolvieren das freiwillige soziale Jahr in Krankenhäusern, Pflegeheimen, Schulen, Kindergärten, usw.

Bezeichnung Freiwilliges Soziales Jahr, FSJ
Altersbeschränkungen von 16 bis 27 Jahren
Dauer 6, 12, 24 Monate
Orte
  • Krankenhäuser, Pflegeheime;
  • Pflege von Denkmälern;
  • Sportverbände;
  • Kindergärten, Schulen;
  • Theater, Museen, Vereine;
Bezahlung, Verpflegung Bereitstellung von Wohnraum, Essen, Sozialleistungen, Taschengeld, berufliche und pädagogische Unterstützung
Webseite der FSJ Verbände pro-fsj.de
Webseite des Jugendprogramms jugendfreiwilligendienste.de

§ Freiwilliges ökologisches Jahr in Deutschland

Das Freiwillige Ökologische Jahr (FÖJ) ist ein großes staatliches Freiwilligenprogramm, dessen Teilnehmer freiwillige Arbeit zum Schutz von Natur und Klima, zur Pflege von Tieren, zur Unterstützung der Forst- und Landwirtschaft leisten. Die Vereinigung der Organisationen, die an diesem Programm teilnehmen, beinhaltet 50 Organisationen, die 3600 Freiwilligenarbeitsplätze anbieten. Dieses Programm richtet sich an junge Menschen unter 27 Jahren. Das freiwillige ökologische Jahr beginnt in der Regel mit dem Schuljahr.

Bezeichnung Freiwilliges Ökologisches Jahr, FÖJ
Altersbeschränkungen von 16 bis 27 Jahren
Dauer 6, 12, 24 Monate
Orte
  • Organisationen für Naturschutz, Klimaschutz;
  • Bildungsstätten für Umwelt;
  • Naturschutzgebiete und Nationalparks;
  • Zoos, Tierparks;
  • Landwirtschaft, Gärten;
Bezahlung, Verpflegung Bereitstellung von Wohnraum, Essen, Sozialleistungen, Taschengeld, berufliche und pädagogische Unterstützung
Webseite FÖJ foej.de
Webseite ÖBFD oeko-bundesfreiwilligendienst.de

§ Bundesfreiwilligendienst in Deutschland

Der Bundesfreiwilligendienst (BFD) ist ein großes staatliches Freiwilligenprogramm in Deutschland ohne Altersbeschränkung. Das Programm bietet Tausende von Orten in den Bereichen Ökologie, Sozialarbeit, Sport und Kultur, an denen Sie an freiwilligen Tätigkeiten teilnehmen können. Die Arbeitsstätten müssen vorher vom Staat genehmigt werden. Auf der offiziellen Webseite des Programms kann ein geeigneter Ort für das Programm ausgesucht werden. Die Teilnehmer müssen nicht über ein bestimmtes Bildungsniveau oder eine bestimmte Berufserfahrung verfügen. Auch Ausländer können teilnehmen, dafür benötigen sie eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis in Deutschland.

Bezeichnung Bundesfreiwilligendienst, BFD
Altersbeschränkungen Keine Altersbeschränkungen
Dauer 6,12,18,24 Monate, Voll- und Teilzeit
Orte
  • Soziale Tätigkeit;
  • Unterstützung in Schulen und Kindergärten;
  • Unterstützung in Krankenhäusern, Pflegeheimen;
  • Ökologie, Helfer in Parks, Zoos;
  • Sport;
  • Integration;
  • Arbeit in kulturellen Einrichtungen;
Bezahlung, Verpflegung Seminare, Kleidung, Wohnen, Essen, Versicherung, Sozialleistungen, Taschengeld
Webseite www.bundesfreiwilligendienst.de

§ Workcamps in Deutschland

Bei Workcamps handelt es sich um ein Programm freiwilliger Aktivitäten zur Durchführung kleiner Projekte. Freiwilligenlager werden für junge Menschen organisiert, die sich freiwillig engagieren möchten. Sie erhalten Unterkunft und Verpflegung, Freizeit, Training, Ausflüge, usw. Die Jugendlichen sind einen Teil des Tages gemeinnützig tätig und den Rest des Tages haben sie Freizeit. Dies ist also eine großartige Gelegenheit für ehrenamtliche Arbeit und Entspannung. Workcamps existieren auf der ganzen Welt, junge Menschen zwischen 16 und 26 Jahren sind eingeladen, obwohl es mit dem Alter auch Ausnahmen geben kann. In solchen Lagern arbeiten junge Leute normalerweise mehrere Wochen.

In Deutschland werden pro Jahr mehr als 350 Freiwilligencamps organisiert, in der Regel mit bis zu 20 Teilnehmern aus verschiedenen Ländern. Die Lager werden von rund 60 Organisationen organisiert, die in 6 Zentralbüros zusammengefasst sind. Sie sind dem Bundesministerium für Familie, Senioren, Frauen und Jugend (BMFSFJ) in Deutschland unterstellt. Dieses Programm wird aus staatlichen Mitteln finanziert.

Bezeichnung Workcamps, Jugendgemeinschaftsdienste
Altersbeschränkungen von 16 bis 26 Jahren, Ausnahmen möglich
Dauer 2-4 Wochen
Orte
  • Soziale und kulturelle Projekte;
  • Erhaltung von Denkmälern;
  • Umweltprojekte;
  • Altenpflege;
  • Jugendhäuser;
  • Naturschutzgebiete;
  • Restaurierungsarbeiten;
Webseite workcamps.org

§ Ein Visum für die Freiwilligenarbeit in Deutschland erhalten

Bürger aus dem Ausland, die nicht Mitglied der Europäischen Union sind, wie Russland, Ukraine und Kasachstan, benötigen ein Freiwilligenvisum, um nach Deutschland einzureisen und an einem der Freiwilligenprogramme teilzunehmen. Für Beratung und Visa müssen Sie sich an die Botschaft oder das Generalkonsulat von Deutschland in Ihrem Wohnort wenden. Organisationen, die diese Programme durchführen, helfen Ausländern normalerweise bei der Antragsstellung eines Visums. Um ein Visum zu erhalten, muss ein Ausländer einige Dokumente einreichen. Die wichtigsten sind in der folgenden Liste aufgeführt. Je nach Visum und Herkunftsland können andere Dokumente erforderlich sein. Abhängig von der Gültigkeit des Visums und der Dauer des Freiwilligendienstes kann es erforderlich sein, das Visum zu verlängern oder eine Aufenthaltserlaubnis einzuholen. Wenden Sie sich hierzu an Ihre Ausländerbehörde.

Dokumente für ein Freiwilligenvisum nach Deutschland

Perspektiven

Durch die Teilnahme am Freiwilligendienst können junge Menschen aus dem Ausland Deutschland besser kennenlernen, ihre Deutsch- oder Englischkenntnisse verbessern, mit Deutschen kommunizieren und interessante Lebenserfahrungen sammeln. Darüber hinaus können junge Menschen Erfahrungen in einem bestimmten Tätigkeitsbereich sammeln, die bei der Berufswahl hilfreich sein können und ihre Chancen erhöhen einen geeigneten Ausbildungsplatz zu finden.

Wenn ein Ausländer weiter in Deutschland arbeiten oder studieren möchte, kann die Teilnahme an Freiwilligenprogrammen seine Chancen in diese Richtung verbessern. Da Ausländer in der Regel während ihrer freiwilligen Tätigkeit Deutschkurse besuchen und mit Deutschen kommunizieren, können sie ihre Sprachkenntnisse erheblich verbessern. Fortgeschrittene Deutschkenntnisse sind Voraussetzung für einen Arbeitsplatz oder ein Studium in Deutschland. Da ein Ausländer bereits im Rahmen eines Freiwilligenprogramms im Land gearbeitet und gelebt hat, verbessert er außerdem seine Chancen auf einen Arbeitsplatz in Deutschland und kann sich direkt im Land mit Beschäftigungsmöglichkeiten und Ausbildung vertraut machen.


§ Kommentare und Fragen von Besuchern der Seite:

Es gibt Kommentare in Russisch: 4, ansehen.

Es gibt Kommentare in Englisch: 2, ansehen.

Neuer Kommentar:


Textbearbeitung: b k u m
Foto / Bild zum Kommentar


Speichern
Soziale Netzwerke
Informationen
Hauptrubriken der Seite
Über uns
Foto zur Seite
Freiwilligenprogramme, freiwilliges soziales und ökologisches Jahr in Deutschland
Sonstiges