RU-GELD.DE

Business, work and life in Germany in English

German labour legislation: basic provisions and norms on the working time, holiday, salaries, sick leave and other rights


In addition, on this page you will find answers to the following questions:

§ German laws regulating the employment relationship

Further you will find a list of the main German laws regulating the employer-employee relationship:

§ Working hours, weekly working hours

Daily working hours in Germany

How many hours does a working day in Germany last? A regular working day in Germany is 8 hours, long, which under certain conditions can be extended up to 10 hours. With a working day of 6 to 9 hours long, the employee has the right to a lunch break of at least 30 minutes. With a longer working day, the minimum break is 45 minutes. The break can be split into several parts, at least 15 minutes each. An employee cannot work without a break for more than 6 consecutive hours. After completion of work, the employee must have a minimum of 11 hours of leisure time.

Weekly working hours in Germany

How many hours does a working week in Germany last? Full working time in Germany is 40 hours per week, maximum 48 hours per week. It is also allowed to work up to 60 hours a week, with subsequent compensation for time.

The working week lasts from Monday to Saturday, although most workers work from Monday to Friday. Night and shift work is also permitted.

The main night time of work for most professions, according to the Working Time Act, is the time from 11.00 p.m. to 6.00 a.m.

Largely, workers should not work all day long on Sunday and statutory holidays in Germany, however, there are many exceptions to this rule.

Overtime work in Germany has to be made up for by the provision of appropriate time off work. Monetary compensation can be made by the firm if agreed between the employee and the employer, however this is not guaranteed by law.

Working time in Germany is 40 hours, maximum 48 hours per week. A regular working day is 8 hours long.

§ The right to leave, duration of holiday in Germany

How many days does a vacation/holiday in Germany last?

Every employee in Germany is entitled to an annual paid rest leave. With a 5-day working week, the minimum vacation time in Germany is 20 working days per year. With a 6-day working week, the minimum vacation time is 24 working days per year. For working youth, the minimum vacation time is longer, depending on their age.

Although the minimum duration of the annual rest leave in Germany is stipulated by law, the actual duration is negotiated by the employee and the employer when applying for a job, it is approved in the employment contract and can be 30 days or more, but not less than the minimum fixed by law.

If an employee has worked at the enterprise for less than 6 months, s/he has the right to a paid rest leave, the duration of which is proportionate to the time worked. For example, if an employee has a 24-day annual rest leave, then for each month s/he receives 2 days of leave, thus having worked for the company for the first 3 months, s/he has the right to a paid rest leave of 6 days.

Annual paid rest leave in Germany is 20 working days a year by a 5-day working week.

§ Sick leave in Germany, payment during sick days

In case of illness, because of which the employee cannot go to work, s/he has to inform the employer as soon as possible. It is necessary to inform only regarding the fact of the disease and the expected duration, the employer has no right to demand information about the disease per se, this information is personal.

If the illness continues for more than 3 days, it is necessary to produce a sickness certificate (Medical note, sick leave), although the employer may require the certificate provision from the very first day of illness.

The employee is protected in case of illness: for the first 6 weeks of sick leave, the employer pays the employee their wages in full. If the sick leave lasts longer and the employee is insured in the system of compulsory medical insurance, s/he is paid 70% of their salary.

§ Maternity leave, maternity protection

How many days does maternity leave in Germany last?

Pregnant women should inform the employer as soon as possible of the expected date of the childbirth. Maternity leave begins 6 weeks before the birth and lasts 8 weeks after the birth of the baby. During this period of time, the woman receives the average salary (Maternity benefit, Mutterschaftsgeld), which she used to get for several months prior to becoming pregnant. This salary is paid to the woman partially by the employer, partially by the health insurance fund.

§ Salary: rate, payment

The rate of salary in Germany depends on the agreement between the employee and the employer and is approved in the employment contract. However, Germany has the Minimum Wage Act (MiLoG), that guarantees the statutory minimum wage.

Information on the average wage in Germany, as well as taxes and social deductions from wages can be found on individual pages of our website.

In some industries, tariff agreements are in place that may set higher minimum wages.

However, the minimum wage/ salary is regulated individually for young people without a college degree, students, trainees, and long-term unemployed.

Salary - Germany has the Minimum Wage Act (MiLoG) in vigor.

§ Probationary, trial employment (in German: Probezeit)

When applying for a job, an employee is given a probationary/ trial period, which can last several months, usually 3 or 6 months. If it is not stipulated by the employment contract, then the employee doesn't have to complete any probationary period. During this term, the employment contract may be terminated within 2 weeks (German: Kündigungsfrist).

While on probation, it is not prohibited to take the annual paid rest leave, although this is not usually done. Besides, during this period, the employee is normally paid their sick leave.

§ Dismissal from work

An employment contract may be terminated either by the employee or the employer subject to the conditions and terms established by law. A notice of the contract termination has to be made in writing.

As stated above, Germany has a law that protects workers from unfair dismissal (the Protection Against Unfair Dismissal Act (KSchG), Kündigungsschutzgesetz). Women during pregnancy or maternity leave, as well as workers with disabilities, are particularly protected by law.

The legislation, the tariff agreement or a work agreement establish minimum terms as to the notice of dismissal. For example, an employee shall receive a notice of dismissal 1 or 3 months before the date of such dismissal.

The statutory period for the notice of dismissal (in German: Kündigungsfrist) is 4 weeks until the 15th day or until the end of the calendar month. This period is extended depending on the length of the worker’s employment at the enterprise and may make up to 7 months.

§ Discrimination in employment and at work

In compliance with the applicable law, discrimination in Germany is prohibited, primarily on the basis of gender, religion, ethnic factors, age, and sexual orientation.

§ Employment references

Every employee working in Germany has the right to obtain a letter of reference (in German: Arbeitszeugnis) from the place of work upon dismissal, as well as in some other cases. In case the employee disagrees with the said employment reference, s/he may appeal it to the labour court.

The employment reference does not formally contain an assessment of work, however, human resources personnel use the "secret language" to indicate the working activities assessment in the reference. Although the reference may sound good, it may in fact mean a poor mark. The table below shows the phrases indicating respective assessment of performance efficiency and relations with other employees of the enterprise, as well as an overall assessment.

Table 1: Employment reference grades of assessment

Assessment grade Performance efficiency Social behavior Overall assessment
Excellent (1) ..."stets ein sehr hohes Maß an Eigeninitiative und Leistungsbereitschaft" Verhalten gegenüber Vorgesetzten und Kollegen war "jederzeit vorbildlich" Seine Leistungen fanden "stets unsere vollste Zufriedenheit"
Good (2) ..."stets eine hohe Leistungsbereitschaft" ..."jederzeit einwandfrei" ..."stets unsere volle Zufriedenheit"
Satisfactory (3) ..."zeigte Einsatzbereitschaft" ..."einwandfrei" ..."unsere volle Zufriedenheit"
Bad (4) ..."zeigte auch Einsatzbereitschaft" ..."korrekt und ohne Beanstandung" ..."unsere Zufriedenheit"
Very bad (5) - ..."unbelastet war" ..."in der Regel zu unserer Zufriedenheit"

Depending on which phrase occurs in the letter of reference, it serves an indicator to the next employer who will receive this letter of reference how the employee has been assessed at their previous place of work. Other phrases may also be used; they can be found on other websites Google arbeitszeugnis geheimsprache


§ Comments and questions from the Site visitors:

Comments made in Russian: 19, view.

Comments made in Polish: 4, view.

New comment :


Text editing: b k u m
Photo / picture to the comment

Save
Follow us on
Information
Main sections
About us
Photo to page
German labour law
Orthes

RU-GELD.DE

Бизнес, работа и жизнь в Германии на русском

Трудовое законодательство Германии: основные положения и нормы о рабочем времени, отпуске, заработной плате, больничном и других правах


Законы Германии, регулирующие трудовые отношения

Далее следует список основных законов Германии, регулирующих отношения между работодателем и работником, работающим по найму:

Рабочее время, продолжительность рабочей недели

Полное рабочее время в Германии составляет 40 часов в неделю, максимальное 48 часов в неделю. Также допускается продолжительность рабочей недели до 60 часов, с последующей компенсацией по времени.

Нормальная продолжительность рабочего дня в Германии составляет 8 часов, который при определенных условиях может быть продлен до 10 часов. При рабочем дне от 6 до 9 часов, работник имеет право на обеденный перерыв минимум 30 минут. При более продолжительном рабочем дне, минимальный перерыв составляет 45 минут. Перерыв может быть разделен на несколько частей, не менее 15 минут каждый. Работник не может работать без перерыва более 6 часов подряд. После окончания работы, работник должен иметь минимум 11 часов свободного от работы времени.

Рабочая неделя установлена с понедельника по субботу, хотя большинство работников работают с понедельника по пятницу. Также разрешается ночная и посменная работа.

Основное ночное время работы для большинства профессий, согласно закону о рабочем времени, считается время с 23.00 ночи до 6.00 утра.

В обычном случае, работники не должны работать в течение всего дня в воскресенье и установленные законом праздничные дни в Германии, однако, из этого правила существует множество исключений.

Сверхурочная работа в Германии должна быть компенсирована предоставлением соответствующего свободного от работы времени. Денежная компенсация может быть сделана фирмой, если согласована между работником и работодателем, однако это не гарантировано законом.

Рабочее время в Германии составляет 40 часов, макисмально 48 часов в неделю. Нормальная продолжительность рабочего дня - 8 часов.

Право на отпуск, продолжительность отпуска

Каждый работник в Германии имеет право на ежегодный оплачиваемый отпуск. При 5-ти дневной рабочей неделе, минимальная продолжительность отпуска в Германии составляет 20 рабочих дней в году. При 6-ти дневной рабочей неделе минимальный отпуск составляет 24 рабочих дня в году. Для работающей молодежи минимальная продолжительность отпуска больше, в зависимости от возраста.

Хотя минимальная продолжительность ежегодного отпуска в Германии установлена законом, фактическая продолжительность обговаривается работником и работодателем при устройстве на работу, она утверждается в трудовом договоре и может быть 30 дней и более, но не менее установленного законом минимума.

Если работник отработал на предприятии менее 6 месяцев, он имеет право на оплачиваемый отпуск, продолжительность которого пропорциональна отработанному времени. Например, если работнику установлен 24 дневный ежегодный отпуск, значит за каждый месяц он получает 2 дня отпуска, таким образом, отработав на предприятии первые 3 месяца, он имеет право на оплачиваемый отпуск в размере 6 дней. Обсуждение на форуме фактической продолжительности отпуска в Германии.

Ежегодный оплачиваемый отпуск в Германии составляет 20 рабочих дней в году при 5-ти дневной рабочей неделе.

Больничный лист, оплата во время больничных дней

При наступлении болезни, из-за которой работник не может выйти на работу, ему необходимо как можно быстрее сообщить об этом работодателю. Сообщить необходимо только сам факт болезни и ожидаемую продолжительность, работодатель не имеет права требовать информацию о самом заболевании, это личная информация.

Если болезнь продолжается более 3х дней, необходимо предоставить справку от врача (Справка о нетрудоспособности, больничный лист), хотя работодатель может потребовать предоставление справки и с первого дня болезни.

Работающий по найму работник защищен в случае болезни: первые 6 недель больничного, работодатель оплачивает работнику полную заработную плату. Если больничный длится дольше и работник застрахован в системе обязательного медицинского страхования, ему оплачивается 70% заработной платы.

Декретный отпуск, защита материнства

Беременным женщинам необходимо как можно раньше проинформировать работодателя о предполагаемой дате рождения ребенка. Декретный отпуск начинается 6 недель до рождения и продолжается 8 недель после рождения ребенка. В это время женщина получает свою среднюю заработную плату (Пособие по материнству, Mutterschaftsgeld), которую она имела в течение нескольких месяцев до наступления беременности. Данную зарплату женщине оплачивает частично работодатель, частично больничная касса.

Заработная плата: размер, выплата

Размер заработной платы в Германии зависит от договоренности между работником и работодателем и утверждается в трудовом договоре. Однако в Германии действует закон о минимальной заработной плате, который гарантирует установленный законом минимум.

Информацию о средней заработной плате в Германии, а также о налогах и социальных сборах в зарплате можно узнать на отдельных страницах нашего сайта.

В некоторых отраслях промышленности действуют тарифные соглашения, которые могут устанавливать более высокую минимальную оплату труда.

Однако минимальная оплата труда регулируется отдельно для молодежи без образования, студентов, практикантов и не работавших длительное время.

Заработная плата - в Германии действует закон о минимальной заработной плате.

Испытательный срок работы (нем. Probezeit)

При устройстве на работу, работнику устанавливается испытательный срок, который может длиться несколько месяцев, обычно 3 или 6 месяцев. Если данный срок не оговорен трудовым договором, значит для работника его не существует. Во время данного срока, трудовой договор может быть расторгнут сроком в 2 недели (нем. Kündigungsfrist).

Во время испытательного срока не запрещено брать ежегодный оплачиваемый отпуск, хотя обычно это не делается. Также в этот период работнику нормальным образом оплачивается больничный.

Увольнение с работы

Трудовой договор может быть расторгнут работником или работодателем при соблюдении установленных законом условий и сроков. Сообщение о расторжении договора должно быть обязательно сделано в письменной форме.

Как было указано выше, в Германии действует закон, который защищает работников от несправедливого увольнения. Особенно защищены законом женщины во время беременности или декретного отпуска, а также работники, имеющие инвалидность.

Законодательством, тарифным договором или рабочим договором устанавливаются минимальные сроки, предупреждения об увольнении. Например, работник получит сообщение об увольнении за 1 или 3 месяца до даты увольнения.

Установленный законом срок предупреждения об увольнении(нем. Kündigungsfrist) составляет 4 недели до 15 числа или до конца календарного месяца. Данный срок повышается в зависимости продолжительности работы работника на предприятии и может составлять до 7 месяцев.

Дискриминация при приеме на работу и на работе

В соответствии с действующим законодательством, в Германии запрещается дискриминация, прежде всего по полу, религии, этническим факторам, возрасту, сексуальной ориентации.

Рекомендация с места работы

Каждый работник, работающий по найму в Германии, имеет право на получение рекомендательного письма(нем. Arbeitszeugnis) с места работы при увольнении, а также в некоторых других случаях. Если работник не согласен с рекомендацией, он может обжаловать его в суде по трудовым спорам.

Рекомендация с места работы официально не содержит оценку работы, однако, работники по кадрам используют "секретный язык", чтобы указать в рекомендации оценку деятельности. Хотя рекомендация может звучать хорошо, фактически может означать плохую отметку. Далее в таблице отмечены фразы, указывающие на соответствующую оценку работоспособности и отношений с другими работниками предприятия, а также общую оценку.

Таблица 1: Оценки в рекомендации с места работы

Оценка Работоспособность Социальное поведение Общая оценка
Отлично (1) ..."stets ein sehr hohes Maß an Eigeninitiative und Leistungsbereitschaft" Verhalten gegenüber Vorgesetzten und Kollegen war "jederzeit vorbildlich" Seine Leistungen fanden "stets unsere vollste Zufriedenheit"
Хорошо (2) ..."stets eine hohe Leistungsbereitschaft" ..."jederzeit einwandfrei" ..."stets unsere volle Zufriedenheit"
Удовлетворительно (3) ..."zeigte Einsatzbereitschaft" ..."einwandfrei" ..."unsere volle Zufriedenheit"
Плохо (4) ..."zeigte auch Einsatzbereitschaft" ..."korrekt und ohne Beanstandung" ..."unsere Zufriedenheit"
Очень плохо (5) - ..."unbelastet war" ..."in der Regel zu unserer Zufriedenheit"

В зависимости от того, какая фраза встречается в рекомендательном письме, она указывает следующему работодателю, который получит данную рекомендацию, как работника оценили на его предыдущем месте работы. Могут использоваться также и другие фразы, их можно найти на других сайтах через Google arbeitszeugnis geheimsprache





Комментарии и вопросы посетителей Сайта:

Новый комментарий:


Фотография / рисунок к комментарию


Внести комментарий

Мы в социальных сетях

Информация

Основные разделы

О нас

Фото к странице

Трудовое законодательство в Германии

Разное