RU-GELD.DE

Business, work and life in Germany in English

The acknowledgment of diplomas, recognition of foreign academic degrees and qualifications in Germany


§ Foreign qualifications recognition: what it is like and the way this procedure is held

Foreign qualifications recognition or confirmation in Germany is a procedure of official comparison and possible equalization of a qualification awarded abroad with a respective local German qualification. This expert examination is carried out by state institutions: either chambers of commerce or other ministries and departments, depending on the profession being recognized. There are several hundred such institutions in Germany, therefore, without a consultation or search system it is impossible to find the right one.

The recognition of qualifications is carried out in the course of 3 months, during the recognition procedure it will be established whether the qualifications obtained in another country are comparable to the local standards established for the same occupation, what the differences are like and whether these differences can be eliminated, for example, by completing supplementary courses or due to work experience.

Based on the recognition procedure results, an official document is issued stating whether or not there is a partial or complete correspondence between the foreign qualifications and the local qualifications, as well as what else needs to be done to achieve full compliance.

Foreign qualifications recognition - is a procedure of official comparison and possible equalization of a qualification awarded abroad with a respective local German qualification.

For what purposes is qualifications recognition(confirmation) required?

Recognition of qualifications obtained in another country is not mandatory, but may be required in the following cases or for the following purposes:

What is the way the foreign qualifications recognition procedure is held?

To have foreign qualifications recognized in Germany, the 5 steps mentioned below have to be followed:

Certified translation of documents First of all, you should have your degree certificate translated. Such a translation can be ordered from one of the sworn translators in Germany. A list of sworn translators in Germany can be found at the EUservice24.info website. Due to this translation, you can find out the exact name of your profession and educational institution.
Search for a responsible institution Find an institution that is responsible for recognizing qualifications like yours. Call the said institution, agency or otherwise obtain information from them as to what documents are required for the recognition of qualifications, as well as what applications and formsheets have to be filled out.
Filling out the forms, paperwork Fill out the application forms; prepare the relevant documents, confirmations and descriptions of professional activities; mail them to the responsible institution for verification. Such documents are best sent by registered mai.
Obtaining a qualifications recognition certificate Obtaining a qualifications recognition formal document. This expert finding indicates whether your educational qualifications are equivalent to the local German education in the respective field. If not, the document indicates specific differences and, possibly, actions that have to be taken to achieve full compliance, for example: get additional training or do some courses.
Further steps to take If the expert finding as to the qualifications recognition requires measures to achieve clean, utter recognition of qualifications, you may decide to comply with them if your profession is not regulated or take advanced training or an aptitude test - it all depends on the expert opinion given and your line of profession.

Recognizing a foreign diploma does not require to have a permit to stay in the country, you can order this compliance assessment even while in another state.

The foreign qualifications confirmation procedure has to be paid for, and the said fee amount is established by the institution responsible for the compliance assessment. This may be a sum of several hundred euros, reaching up to 500 euros. If you live in Germany and are a recipient of social assistance or the ALG-II unemployment benefit, it is likely that you can disburden the payment of the fee upon the institution responsible for paying the benefit. Since the payment sum is quite large, it makes sense to first check with the inspecting institution the fee amount, as well as the possibilities of the fee to be paid by state institutions.

What documents usually have to be submitted for a diploma or professional qualifications recognition?

The definitive list of documents to be provided will be received from the inspecting institution. Typically, the required documents include as follows:

§ Higher education diploma confirmation (nostrification) in Germany

Higher education diploma confirmation (nostrification) as such is carried out as described above on this page, but here some additional features are worth being taken into consideration.

In Germany there is the Central Office for Foreign Education (Zentralstelle für ausländisches Bildungswesen, ZAB). If your line of profession does not refer to regulated occupations in Germany, it doesn’t have to be recognized. But in this case you can apply for a diploma assessment. The certificate issued contains a description of the educational qualifications, as well as the possibility to apply them in Germany, which makes it easier for a foreign specialist to find work in Germany. The assessment application with all the required documents attached can be submitted through the ZAB special online service.

§ Analysis, verification of occupational qualifications in Germany without supporting documents

In case of complete or partial absence of documents evidencing vocational education and training, a foreign specialist can still count on recognition of their qualifications. To do this, s/he has to take an aptitude test. This test is held by the institution/ agency responsible for the qualifications recognition. Typically, for this purpose, the applicant is interviewed, along with simulating occupational situations and doing specific test assignments at the enterprise. A decision on the qualifications recognition is taken based on the results of these activities.

The vocational qualifications analysis is usually carried out in German, at that using dictionaries or a translator/ interpreter assistance is allowed. The costs of this analysis are usually borne by the Federal Employment Agency or other government bodies.

§ Evidencing the German language proficiency

Although evidencing the German language proficiency is not required to confirm a diploma or another document on education, however, in order to work within a regulated profession, you have to confirm your knowledge of the German language at a certain level. What level of language proficiency is required depends on the profession. In addition, you may have to take a proficiency exam in Foreign Language for Specific Purposes, Fachsprache.

§ Сounselling on qualifications recognition or confirmation

In Germany, there is a special service that advises foreign specialists on the issues related to the foreign educational qualifications recognition. This service provides telephone consultations in German and English. The service phone number is: 030-1815-1111 (within Germany), 00-49-30-1815-1111(from abroad).

Consultations are also provided by the Central Office for Foreign Education (ZAB), their phone number is: 0228 501-664 (Mon, Tue, Thu, Fri from 9 a.m. to 12 p.m.)

Besides, there are counselling centers within the framework of the «Integration Through Qualification (IQ)», Support Program, where you can get free advice on the diplomas confirmation and qualifications recognition.

Besides, the Otto Benecke Stiftung e.V. Higher Education Guarantee Fund is engaged in the foreign qualifications recognition or diplomas confirmation assistance.

More helpful services:

§ German laws governing the foreign educational qualifications recognition


§ Comments and questions from the Site visitors:

New comment :


Text editing: b k u m
Photo / picture to the comment

Save
Follow us on
Information
Main sections
About us
Photo to page
Confirmation of a diploma, proficiency testing in Germany
Orthes

RU-GELD.DE

Business, Arbeit und Leben in Deutschland: für Ausländer und Migranten

Anerkennung ausländischer Bildungsabschlüsse, Diplomen, beruflicher Qualifikationen in Deutschland


§ Was versteht man unter Anerkennung von ausländischen Qualifikationen und wie wird das in Deutschland durchgeführt?

Die Anerkennung oder Bestätigung einer im Ausland erworbenen Qualifikation ist ein Verfahren der amtlichen Gegenüberstellung und der möglichen Angleichung einer erhaltenen ausländischen an eine deutsche Qualifikation. Diese Prüfung wird von staatlichen Institutionen durchgeführt: entweder von Handelskammern oder anderen Ämtern und Abteilungen, je nach anerkanntem Beruf. Es gibt in Deutschland mehrere Hundert solcher Ämter, daher ist es ohne ein Beratungs- oder Suchsystem unmöglich das richtige Amt zu finden.

Die Anerkennung der Qualifikationen erfolgt im Lauf von von 3 Monaten, während der Anerkennung wird festgestellt ob die ausländische Qualifikation der Deutschen entspricht, welche Unterschiede bestehen und ob diese Unterschiede zum Beispiel durch zusätzliche Kurse oder durch Berufserfahrung beseitigt werden können.

Auf Grundlage der Ergebnisse wird ein offizielles Dokument ausgestellt, aus dem hervorgeht ob eine teilweise oder vollständige Übereinstimmung zwischen ausländischen und deutschen Qualifikationen erreicht wurde oder nicht, und was noch getan werden muss um eine vollständige Übereinstimmung zu erreichen.

Die Anerkennung einer ausländischen Qualifikation ist ein Verfahren der amtlichen Gegenüberstellung und der möglichen Angleichung einer erworbenen ausländischen Qualifikation an eine deutsche Qualifikation.

Für welche Zwecke ist eine Bestätigung der Qualifikation erforderlich?

Die Anerkennung von einer ausländischen Qualifikation ist nicht zwingend notwendig, kann jedoch in folgenden Fällen oder zu folgenden Zwecken erforderlich sein:

Wie läuft das Verfahren zur Anerkennung einer ausländischen Qualifikation ab?

Um einen ausländischen Abschluss in Deutschland anzuerkennen, sind folgende 5 Schritte erforderlich:

Beglaubigte Übersetzung von Dokumenten Zunächst müssen Sie Ihr Ausbildungsdokument übersetzen. Eine solche Übersetzung kann bei einem der vereidigten Übersetzer in Deutschland bestellt werden. Eine Liste der in Deutschland vereidigten Übersetzer finden Sie unter EUservice24.info. Mithilfe so einer Übersetzung können Sie die genaue Bezeichnung Ihres Berufs und Ihrer Bildungseinrichtung erfahren.
Suche nach dem zuständigen Amt Finden Sie das Amt, das für die Anerkennung Ihrer Qualifikationen zuständig ist. Sie können eine telefonische Auskunft erhalten oder sich auf andere Weise informieren, welche Dokumente für die Anerkennung erforderlich sind und welche Anträge und Formulare ausgefüllt werden sollten.
Ausfüllen und Vorbereiten der Anträge und Dokumente Füllen Sie die Anträge aus; bereiten Sie die erforderlichen Unterlagen, Bestätigungen und Beschreibungen der beruflichen Tätigkeiten vor; schicken Sie diese zur Überprüfung an die zuständige Stelle. Solche Unterlagen werden am besten per Einschreiben verschickt.
Bescheinigung über die Anerkennung von Qualifikationen Erhalt einer offiziellen Bescheinigung über die Anerkennung Ihrer Qualifikation. Dieser Bescheid gibt an, ob Ihre Ausbildung der deutschen Qualifikation entspricht. Wenn nicht, werden in dem Dokument die genauen Unterschiede genannt und mögliche Maßnahmen aufgeführt, die zur Erreichung der vollständigen Anerkennung notwendig sind, z. B. zusätzliche Schulungen oder Kurse.
Nächste Schritte Wenn für die vollständige Anerkennung der Ausbildung zusätzliche Maßnahmen erforderlich sind, können Sie entscheiden diese zu erfüllen, wenn Ihr Beruf nicht reglementiert ist, sich weiterzubilden oder eine Prüfung für einen Fachbereich abzulegen. Dies hängt vom Bescheid und Ihrem Beruf ab.

Für die Anerkennung eines ausländischen Diploms ist keine Aufenthaltserlaubnis erforderlich. Sie können eine Prüfung der Voraussetzungen auch dann durchführen lassen, wenn Sie sich in einem anderen Staat befinden.

Für das Verfahren zur Bestätigung ausländischer Qualifikationen ist eine Gebühr zu entrichten, deren Höhe von der zuständigen Einrichtung festgelegt wird. Die Summe kann mehrere hundert Euro betragen, sie kann 500,00 Euro erreichen. Wenn Sie in Deutschland leben und Sozialhilfe oder ALG-II erhalten, können Sie die Zahlung der Gebühr wahrscheinlich an die Einrichtung übergeben, die die jeweilige Leistung bezahlt. Da die Gebühr recht hoch ist, ist es sinnvoll zunächst bei der Prüfstelle nach der Höhe der Gebühr, sowie nach Möglichkeiten zur Kostenübernahme von staatlichen Ämtern zu fragen.

Welche Unterlagen werden zur Prüfung der Anerkennung eines Diploms oder Berufsausbildung benötigt?

Die genaue Liste der notwendigen Unterlagen erhalten Sie von der jeweiligen Prüfstelle. In der Regel enthalten die erforderlichen Dokumente Folgendes:

§ Anerkennung akademischer Ausbildungen in Deutschland

Die Anerkennung eines Hochschuldiploms erfolgt insgesamt wie oben auf dieser Seite beschrieben, wobei hier einige zusätzliche Möglichkeiten zu beachten sind.

In Deutschland gibt es die Zentralstelle für ausländisches Bildungswesen (ZAB). Wenn Ihr Beruf in Deutschland nicht reglementiert ist, ist keine Anerkennung erforderlich. In diesem Fall können Sie jedoch eine Diplomprüfung beantragen. Die ausgestellte Bescheinigung enthält eine Beschreibung der erhaltenen Ausbildung sowie die Möglichkeit ihrer Ausübung in Deutschland. Diese erleichtert es einer ausländischen Fachkraft eine Arbeit in Deutschland zu finden. Ein Prüfungsantrag inklusive allen erforderlichen Unterlagen kann über den speziellen Onlinedienst der ZAB eingereicht werden.

§ Bewertung, Überprüfung der beruflichen Qualifikation in Deutschland ohne bestätigende Dokumente

Wenn Dokumente zur Bestätigung der Berufsausbildung ganz oder teilweise fehlen, kann eine ausländische Fachkraft trotzdem von einer Anerkennung seiner Qualifikationen ausgehen. Dazu muss die Person eine Bewertung der beruflichen Qualifikationen durchgehen. Diese Bewertung wird von der für die Anerkennung zuständigen Stelle durchgeführt. In der Regel wird zu diesem Zweck ein Gespräch geführt, Arbeitssituationen und genaue Testaufgaben im Unternehmen nachgestellt. Auf Grundlage dieser Ergebnisse wird eine Entscheidung über die Anerkennung der Qualifikation getroffen.

Eine Bewertung der beruflichen Qualifikationen wird in der Regel auf Deutsch durchgeführt, Sie können jedoch Wörterbücher oder Übersetzungshilfen verwenden. Die Kosten dieser Bewertung werden in der Regel von der Agentur für Arbeit oder anderen staatlichen Stellen getragen.

§ Nachweis von Deutschkenntnissen

Ein Nachweis der Deutschkenntnisse ist nicht erforderlich um ein Diplom oder ein anderes Dokument über die Ausbildung zu bestätigen. Um jedoch in einem reglementierten Beruf arbeiten zu können, muss die Kenntnis der deutschen Sprache einer bestimmten Stufe bestätigt werden. Welche Sprachkenntnisse erforderlich sind hängt vom jeweiligen Beruf ab. Darüber hinaus kann es unter Umständen notwendig sein eine Prüfung über die Kenntnisse der Fachsprache abzulegen.

§ Beratung zur Anerkennung, Zertifizierung von Qualifikationen

In Deutschland gibt es einen speziellen Dienst, der ausländische Fachkräfte in Fragen zur Anerkennung ausländischer Qualifikationen berät. Dieser Service bietet telefonische Beratungen in deutscher und englischer Sprache an. Servicetelefonnummer: 030-1815-1111 (innerhalb Deutschlands), 00-49-30-1815-1111(aus dem Ausland).

Beratungen werden auch von der Zentralstelle für ausländisches Bildungswesen (ZAB) durchgeführt. Die Telefonnummer ist: 0228 501-664 (Mo, Di, Do, Fr von 9 bis 12 Uhr)

Darüber hinaus gibt es das Beratungsstellen-Förderprogramm «Integration durch Qualifikation (IQ)» bei dem Sie kostenlos zur Bestätigung von Diplomen und zur Anerkennung von Qualifikationen beraten werden.

Darüber hinaus unterstützt die Otto Benecke Stiftung e.V. die Bestätigung ausländischer Abschlüsse und die Anerkennung von Diplomen - Garantiefonds für die Hochschulbildung nach Otto Benecke benannt.

Zusätzliche nützliche Dienste:

§ Gesetze zur Anerkennung ausländischer Bildung in Deutschland


§ Kommentare und Fragen von Besuchern der Seite:

Neuer Kommentar:


Textbearbeitung: b k u m
Foto / Bild zum Kommentar


Speichern
Soziale Netzwerke
Informationen
Hauptrubriken der Seite
Über uns
Foto zur Seite
Bestätigung eines Diploms in Deutschland
Sonstiges